Fiesta In A Bowl

I know it’s Fall, and everybody is making Pumpkin this, Squash that, with a Curried this or that. Well people, I’ve got something better. Not saying that I don’t like my Curried Carrot and Squash soup that I’ve been making since I moved, but I wanted change, and something reminded me of this super awesome tasting soup I had made once, a long time ago. I’ve actually got a few good soup recipes, such as a Moroccan Soup (which I will post eventually), a great Pho Soup (or as my step-dad Edward says, my Po-Po soup), and my Potato and Leek soup. But right now, let me introduce to you your newest favourite soup! Yes, trust me on this one, you will want to have more and more of this amazing soup.

Before I actually give it to you, let me tell you a bit more about this amazing soup. See, at my Mom’s, we’d get the newspaper on a daily basis… Yes that’s right, not online, but on paper!!! Other than reading my daily horoscope and comics, I only really read the paper on Thursdays. Why? Well the Ottawa Citizen has a great food section on Thursdays! This summer, we got some new food trucks and they published the recipes for all of the new 7 (I think) food trucks ‘best of the best’ recipes. Lots of excitement for me. Anyways, this was posted back in February (http://www.ottawacitizen.com/health/What+This+Week+This+soup+fights+battle+bulge/7991432/story.html) and was included as part of a kind of “Fight the Fat” campaign. It has all these amazing ingredients that are low in sodium and fats, but amazing for your body!

Enough is enough, now here is the soup. I’m going to warn you right now, you need to PREP EVERYTHING BEFORE HAND. It will take you a good 10-15 minutes of chopping and boiling water, but you will thank yourself afterwards. You pretty much have to time the steps to making this so chopping whilst counting down the seconds might not be ideal.

 

Ingredients
– 1 small red onion
– 1 red bell pepper
– 1/4 cup dried cranberries
– 4 cloves of garlic
– 1 tbsp. chili
– 1 tsp. cumin
– 3/4 tsp. salt and pepper
– 8 cups of broth
– 1 can of diced tomatoes (calls for 14oz can, I use 19oz)
– 2 cans of black beans (I only use one can of 19 oz… two of them will cause you to be quite fragrant)
– 2 cups of pasta (bow ties, penne, anything small)
– 1 cup of frozen corn kernels
– 4 cups of spinach
– 1 jalapeno pepper, diced
– 1 lime, zest and juice

Step 1
– heat 2 tsp. of olive oil and sauté ONION and RED PEPPER

Step 2
– add CRANBERRIES, GARLIC, CHILI and CUMIN

Step 3
– Stir in 6 cups of BROTH, can of TOMATOES, and bring to a boil

Step 4
– stir in BEANS, PASTA and CORN until pasta is cooked (depending on the pasta, 6 to 9 minutes should be enough)

Step 5
– Add the last 2 cups of BROTH, SPINACH, JALAPENO and LIME juice and zest

You can if you want to add a good handful of fresh CORIANDER to garnish at the end, it brings the flavours out!

According to the dietician who came up with this beauty, here is the nutritional break-down

Per serving (about 1 1/3 cups/325 mL): 234 calories, 2 g fat, 0 g saturated fat, 0 mg cholesterol, 396 mg sodium, 43 g carbohydrates, 10 g fibre, 10 g sugars, 10 g protein. Excellent source of folate. Good source of vitamin C and iron.

Just so you know. This feeds about 4-5 people with 2 lunches. Or, if you live alone, like me, it will give you about 6 lunches and two dinner servings (lunch servings being slightly smaller).

1379791_10152247085088332_2069279922_n

 

Now. Time to go make me some Kale chips! Recipe will be posted later!

 

Zoë

Leave a Reply

