Fool Proof Pork Chops

Those of you who know me, know that I am obsessed with Jamie Oliver. So much that I have 3 of his cookbooks and am subscribed to his FoodTube, and watch his shows religiously. By the way, he’s coming up with a book, “Save with Jamie” and it’s all about cheap delicious meals and ways on saving money… definitely on my Xmas list! I am so in love with Jamie that my thesis for my future PHD is inspired by his two hit TV series Jamie’s Food Revolution (the one in the USA and the other in the UK). I got very mad at my dad for him admitting that he has met, and ate, with my idol. Yes, when my dad was working in the UK, two of his friends lived in a flat right by Jamie’s… They bumped into him one night going back from work and Jamie invited them to his restaurant, and later that night had a drink with them at their table. I was sooooo upset after I heard that. To make things worse, I was in Toronto last fall, to see George Stroboulopoulos, and Jamie had been on set THE DAY BEFORE I WENT. gnah. To know that you missed your idol by 24h…gnah, I don’t want to think of it!

My mom doesn’t eat pork (intolerant to it) so we didn’t really have it in the house much, but I bought some one night, while she was working late, and made some pork chops à la Jamie. Let’s just say that I became by brother’s new best friend. These are seriously kickass chops and you can glaze them with whatever you wish! This recipe is out of his “Jamie’s Food Revolution: Rediscover how to cook simple, delicious, affordable meals”. It truly has some amazing recipes that I will be posting later on!

You will need

  • pork chops (1-2-3-4, all depending)
  • salt and pepper
  • olive oil
  • glazing substance : apricot jam, apple sauce, mango chutney, maple syrup, honey, etc.

Chop off any extra fat around your chops, then rub them with some olive oil, salt and pepper. Put them in a pan and fry them on medium-high heat, one minute per side, flipping them each minute. Now according to Jamie, it should be 5 min per side in total, but it dried them out quite a bit, so you be the judge of that. But once the chops start to colour a bit, add the glazing substance to them with a spoon, and continue to flip them over. Like my previous post about Lemony Chicken, the sugars in the glaze will create a syrup and will thicken and will coat your chops nicely. I like to get my chops to a nice dark gold colour, when you see that it has really turned into a nice syrup and coated them really well. My personal favourite is Apricot Jam, very simple and not overly sweet, but I have tried a Dijon and Maple, Grainy Dijon+Maple+Soya sauce, and they have all be equally amazing.  Since pork is pretty lean, I don’t feel too bad about the sugars in the glaze, it just gives it that kick in the behind it needs!

Mple Dijon Glazed Pork

This was one of my best meals so far. Maple Dijon Pork, a side of Garlic and Rosemary Sweet Potato fries and a salad with blueberries and goat cheese

*** For the Sweet Potato Fries

All you need is chopped up garlic (2 to 3 cloves) and chopped fresh Rosemary and olive oil. Toss in your Potato wedges, fries, rounds, etc., and bake them for about 30-40 mins at 350 on a parchment paper lined baking sheet

 

Beautiful! As Jamie would say!

Leave a Reply

