Friday Afternoon Treats

Who doesn’t like getting home on Friday afternoons,  flop onto the couch with a coffee and treat and just sit there for a wee bit, just to decompress and to let the weekend begin? I know I do!

Since moving here, I haven’t had to hear my Mom nag that I’m about to eat something unhealthy and full of calories and that I’m not going to lose weight if I continue to do so. Well you know what? I think we all deserve to do so, once in a while. See, treats for me are probably very different than treats for you. A treat for me is a chocolate muffin, or chocolate chip cookies, that I usually have to bake myself. Treats for you, probably are more in the lines of cinnamon buns, cupcakes, and all things that would probably end up killing me… just kidding! not really!

With her not here to tell me what I know I shouldn’t be eating, I’ve come up with my own versions of these treats. Not only are they all eggless and nutless, in the past month, they have also been gluten free. I have the feeling that I am developing an intolerance to gluten, so I have completely cut it out of my diet until I go get some bloodwork done. Until then, I’m living the GF life. It’s not that much of a stretch, since my grandfather is Celiac and my cousin is intolerant to gluten, therefore our family dinners are always complex and somewhat restrictive.

This week, I had a few bananas laying around and starting to go past their prime and too many fruitflies. So, I did some searching to find the perfect banana muffin recipe that is a) eggless, b) nutless and c) gluten free ALL AT THE SAME TIME. Let me tell you, it’s not simple. It’s either full of eggs and gluten, eggs and nuts or gluten and nuts. Never free of all three. However! I fell on a pretty sweet recipe (link will be posted) that was fairly simple AND totally doable in regards to the substituting eggs!

See, for those like me with an allergy to eggs, or an intolerance to them, or you’re just plain out of them, you can substitute them for many things!

TIP OF THE DAY : For recipes calling for 1 egg (max 2) you can replace it by using

  • apple sauce (about 1 to 2 heaping tbsp.)
  • yogurt (about 1 to 2 heaping tbsp.)
  • milk (only use if you’re making something more liquid, like pancakes, or else it will make things too soupy)
  • 1 tbsp. of ground flax seed and 3 tbsp. of water (1 tbsp. whole flaxseed and 4 tbsp. of water)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. tapioca starch + 1 1/2 tsp. potato starch + 1/4 tsp. baking powder + 1/8 tsp. xanthan gum + 3 tbsp. of water

Use your common sense when it comes to substituting. If it calls for 1 egg, even 2, substitute with it about the same amount of what I just proposed. Once a recipe calls for more than 2, you’re kinda out of luck. There are some powdered egg replacements, but beware, some are actually just powdered egg!!! Read your labels!

Also!!!! If you use the tapioca/potato starch substitute, DO NOT USE IT IF YOU’RE MAKING SOMETHING THAT IS GLUTEN FREE!!!! I once tried making gluten free brownies for my dad’s friend, while making them egg free as well… let’s just say that it looked like a pile of dirt you buy for potted plants and not luscious brownies….

*** I personally have not tried the last two, but they seem to work, according to the blogs and forum I’ve read***

So, as I was saying, I was craving something banana-y

Despicable-me-2-Minions-banana

And I found this amazing recipe. So I tried it. AND IT’S LITERALLY HEAVEN ON EARTH IN THE FORM OF MINI-MUFFINS!!!

Yes, I do get overly excited about food. Those close to me know that. They will sometimes receive text-messages from me about food, or pictures of food, or me freaking out about food.

So here is this famous recipe

– 3 ripe bananas…
– 3/4 cup of sugar ( you can use less, they end up being fairly sweet)
– 1 egg (I obviously didn’t use the egg, I always replace 1 egg with about 2 heaping table spoons of yogurt)
– 1 tsp. baking soda
– 1tsp baking powder
– 1/2 tsp. salt
– 1 1/2 cups of GF flour (you can use regular or whole wheat flour)
– 1/3 cup melted butter (I used 1/4 cup)
– 2 tsp. vanilla extract (you can always use orange juice or thawed out orange juice concentrate, just as yummy)
You can top them with blueberries or chocolate chips, or leave them plain

Bake them at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes. My oven is tiny, therefore gets hotter faster than other ovens I’ve used so I really need to watch my baking closely. But for this recipe, it was bang on 25 minutes.

They will look like this (pardon for the bad pictures, I haven’t been using my good camera lately, just relying on my phone… one day when my food looks more presentable, I will use the other camera)

Banana Muffins ... i.e. HEAVEN ON EARTH

Banana Muffins … i.e. HEAVEN ON EARTH

I used the mini muffin tray (it makes 24 mini muffins) and I had just enough batter to use one of my silicone cups from Ikea (which is what is pictured), which is about 2 mini muffins. For those who are interested, I use MyFitnessPal app. to keep track of my foods (most of the time when I don’t forget) and I put in this recipe to see what the nutrition value of these babies were.

Here’s the breakdown for 1 mini muffin (using Greek yogurt instead of an egg)

– calories : 59

– total fats: 0.3g

– cholesterol : 0.1mg

– sodium: 2mg

– potassium: 78.2mg

– total carbs: 13.9mg

– dietary fiber: 1.1g

– sugars: 7.5g

– protein: 1.3g

I have to say, they are super sweet and hit the spot! What I did, so I wouldn’t eat the whole batch at once, which I probably could have, I put them two by two in little zip-lock bags and froze them, so I have two little treats to bring with me to school or for after the gym, so I don’t feel the need to go out and buy something!

More treats to come my loves!

Zoë

 

ps: this is the site where I found my recipe! http://3monkeysmommy.blogspot.ca/2013/04/quick-easy-gluten-free-banana-muffins.html

Leave a Reply

