Lets Talk About Boobs!

And by boobs I mean chicken boobs, or well, to be politically correct, chicken breasts. One of the simplest things to prepare, however I was getting really bored with what I was eating. Same old, same old herb mix or spice mix, but never anything new. So, I’ve come up with one marinade inspired by my mom’s cooking, and another out of my “Starting Out” cookbook (see previous posts about book if curious).

Let’s start with Mom, since I’m feeling a little homesick/excited to go back home next weekend!

I live(d) in a Greek household and most of my mom’s specialty dishes were spinoffs from traditional Greek dishes. I say spinoffs because first, she never follows a recipe (which has resulted in some kitchen disasters) and second, I am a problem child. Actually, she and I are the only two in the house that have food allergies. She’s allergic to nuts and shellfish, and I’m eggs, nuts and possibly gluten intolerant. So obviously recipes go out the window when you’re trying to accommodate for everyone’s needs. Anyways. My brother and I LOVE lamb. I haven’t had any in some time and just thinking of it is making me hungry (it’s hard to find in the shops here unfortunately). My mom used to make this crazy lemony marinade for them, for which I cannot remember the entire recipe, but it involved a whole lemon, even two. If you like lemons, this is for you!

This marinade is pretty much good for any other types of meats, probably even fish! All you need are

  • 1 lemon
  • fresh herbs
  • dried herbs
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil

You can use any type of herb that you want, but fresh basil is excellent for this, especially for chicken. Mix everything together, an plop your chicken breast (preferably cut up into pieces) and let it marinade for as long as you want. I usually just plop it in for about 5 minutes, or until the pan is hot. All you need to do is put it in a pan and fry/sauté it until the chicken is cooked. You need to add all of the marinade to it! What happens is that the sugars in the lemon juice will create a kind of syrup once it heats up, and that will coat your chicken and help it brown nicely. Eh voilà! That simple!  I like serving this chicken with sautéed zucchini and mushrooms (with garlic and onions) and asparagus, with a side of your choice.

Lemony Chicken

I know this looks like a pretty dull meal, and it was, but at least it was full of flavour (this is what happens when you live alone and have to study for midterms)

Next recipe is from my ” Starting Out” cookbook. The section on poultry in this book is quite good because it give you 6 or 7 different types of marinades and rubs to try for your chicken (it does this too for fish). You can also use any other type of cut of chicken for this recipe. And, you can broil, roast or sauté the chicken! Options, options, options!

They call this the Tandoori Chicken. I had an obsession with Indian inspired foods for a long time and this fits the bill! It’s not at all spicy but it goes well with spicier things or mild things.

You will need

  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup of plain yogurt
  • 1 tbps curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp of cumin
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Mix it all together, coat chicken breast or thighs, let it marinate for 10 mins or more, then pop it in the over or in a pan and cook until chicken is done!

Now, this was my first meal ever in my new apartment, like, the first night I was finally unpacked and had gone grocery shopping. So please bear with the dullness of this dinnertandoori chicken

Hopefully you guys will be inspired to try these and let me know what you think!!!

Zoë

Leave a Reply

