What’s for Breakfast Guys?

Breakfast has always been a tricky thing for me. Never had the fun of having bacon and eggs, or French toast, or a breakfast burrito…Ya know, all those good things, well I can’t eat them. It sucks, big time but oh well.

 

I found a really nice and easy zucchini bread recipe to try, since eating store bought gluten-free bread is out of the question since it almost always has eggs. So here it is!!

2 1/2 cup of all purpose GF flour (I used white rice flour)
– 1 cup of sugar (I would reduce it to half)
– 1 tbsp. cinnamon (I totally forgot it, so sprinkled it on top, which is why it looks burnt)…
– 1 1/2 tsp baking soda
– 1/4 tsp salt
– 1/2 tsp xanthan gum (this acts like gluten, to bind everything together, but I spoke to my Nonna who makes GF breads for my grandfather and she said it wasn’t really necessary)
– 2 cups zucchini, shredded
– 1/2 cup vegetable oil
– 2 tsp vanilla
– 1 1/2 cups of hot water

It’s fast and easy to follow and it bakes in about 50 minutes. I’ve tried it twice with different flours and it has come out quite differently both times. The first time was with white rice flour, and it had a grainy, almost sandy, texture and was quite heavy. The second time around, I used Bob’s Red Mill Homemade Bread Mix, since my grocery store doesn’t carry that brands regular GF mix. This package comes with quick rising yeast in a little envelope for those who want to use it to make bread. It has a slightly bitter taste to it (DONT EAT THE BATTER, YOU WILL REGRET IT) but once baked, it’s quite nice… However, it took a little longer to bake…  might have been the extra 1/2 cup of zucchini (extra water)…gluten free zucchini bread

*First attempt at making the bread using rice flour… As you can see, it’s nice and cracked, but that is to be expected when using rice flour and no eggs. Also forgot to add the cinnamon so I sprinkled it on top… that’s why it looks burnt.

**Tip if you do decide to make this with Bob’s Red Mill flour mix : leave your toast in the toaster for the longest setting (mine is at 5 1/2, but my toaster is centuries old) It will crisp up the outside really well, but because of all the moisture from the zucchini, the inside will be still nice and fluffy!

 

Anyways, super simple, super good for you and a good part of breakfast for me! I usually also have a bowl of yogurt or cottage cheese with cinnamon and fruit/berries

***Tip #3 if you’re making bread of baked goods and living alone: slice it up into portions and freeze it so a) it doesn’t sit on your counter for a week, or a month, b) stays fresh c) saves you money from continuously buying store made bread that’s full of crappy things for you!

 

Later this evening I will post my most popular bread recipe, that is unfortunately for me, not gluten free…. Beer Bread!!!!

 

Leave a Reply

