Need to Feed My Brain : Sorta BBQ rub Salmon

Phew. I just spent the entire day dealing with some annoying crap as well as study my butt off for my History of Unions in North-America/Canada/Quebec exam on Friday. But I was smart and found a quick and easy recipe that I’ve been wanting to try for a while. Y’all know that fish is good for you, right? Well I love fish, and my brain loves fish too! So tonight on the menu is Atlantic Salmon and green beans and quinoa. Sounds plain, but oh it’s not.

If you guys didn’t know, Jamie Oliver will be in Canada, to be more precise, in Montreal this week, promoting his new collaboration with Sobeys’. I am devastated that I wont get to see him, so I’m compensating by flipping through his cookbooks and picking my next meals. Tonight’s recipe is inspired by one of his salmon recipes in his “Food Revolution” cookbook. His recipe calls for pesto, which I didn’t have, so I went ahead and created my own spice rub and my own little side dressing to serve my fishy with.

You will need

  •  green beans
  • salmon filet
  • chili
  • garlic powder
  • cumin
  • curry powder
  • chili flakes
  • paprika
  • salt
  • pepper
  • dried parsley
  • a pinch of brown sugar
  • olive oil

For your yogurt dip

  • 1/2 cucumber
  • yogurt
  • fresh garlic or powdered garlic
  • cumin

* You can use any spice mix you want, I just like the spicy-ness too it!

For the fish part of the dish,

  • steam your green beans first for 3-4 minutes (make sure they are still a little crunchy)
  • place on a sheet of aluminum paper that you’ve folded in half (just to make it thicker)
  • rub a tsp of olive oil on your salmon filet and then rub that spice mix all over it
  • you can drizzle some olive oil onto your beans if you want
  • place the salmon on top of the beans
  • fold the aluminum over to make a little packet and place in oven
labels are missing on garlic powder and chili

labels are missing on garlic powder and chili

steamed green beans

steamed green beans

IMG_0831

IMG_0834

 

Oven @ 400 for 20-25 minutes depending on the thickness of your fish

While your fish is a-cookin’, go a head and make the side dish of your choice, tonight it’s plain quinoa.

Now’s the time for your yogurt dressing. This is practically a mix between Raita, an Indian yogurt dip, and Tzaziki, a Greek yogurt dip.

  • wash your cucumber (no need to peel it, unless you really don’t like the peel… usually for Tzaziki you would but I was in a hurry and who really cares?)
  • grate that mofo into a bowl
  • chop up some fresh garlic, or sprinkle some powered garlic
  • sprinkle some cumin into the bowl (this one is a personal taste thing, some like lots, some like a bit… season to taste)
  • add some yogurt (I DIDNT MEASURE, I JUST WENT WITH IT)
  • salt and pepper to taste

Now I’m warning you, it will be runny, so you can always press your cucumber after its grated to suck up the extra water, or you can press your yogurt (this is done with a cheese cloth, or a triangle bandage found in your first aid kit). Straining your yogurt properly will take you pretty much overnight. it’s a Greek method my mom showed me when you want really thick and creamy Tzaziki, but again, I don’t have a triangle bandage, and I don’t have the patience. If I had guests coming over, I would take the time to do so.yogurt dip in melon bowl

 

By now your fish should be done, remove from stove and let sit for a minute. Open package up, check if cooked through, and serve!!!

Mine is just out now and has been sitting around for a minute or two so time to plate it up!!!IMG_0835

Still have to work on my plating skills

Still have to work on my plating skills

So, I’m actually really glad I had the yogurt dip. I went overboard with the spices and, although it was delicious, the yogurt dip was a nice touch!

 

Try it out and let me know!

 

Zoë

One thought on “Need to Feed My Brain : Sorta BBQ rub Salmon

  1. Zoe: putting the yoghurt into a coffee filter overnight also works- put the filter into a small colander/strainer over top of a bowl in the fridge and let the water drain through.. et voila!!

    optional is to do this in the morning and by the time you get home from school or work, the yoghurt is nice and thick..

Leave a Reply

