Is It 4pm Yet?

Gnah!! I can’t wait until 4pm!!! It means that a) I’ll be done my Unions’ exam, and b) I’m going back home for Thanksgiving!!!! So happy!!! I’ve got a few recipes I’m going to try out this weekend, so be prepared to be amazed! I will be making Thanksgiving dinner with my mom, and as an accompaniement to her Thanksgiving ribs (yes we have ribs and not turkey, wait and see what we have at Christmas), I will be making a stuffed squash and quinoa dish! It is truly amazing. Also in the works are EGGLESS DOUGHNUTS! Yes you heard me! I’ve never had a single doughnut in my entire life! Well this is about to change! And as requested, I need to make a batch of homemade Reeses’ PeanutButter Cups but making them nutless! Oh so many things.

Oh, by the way, here’s a quick lunch/dinner recipe that you can make on the go. I’m currently waiting for my Zucchini Boats to be ready to eat. Yep, all you need are some zucchinis, which I must say, are one of the best veggies out there. I also had to empty my fridge for the weekend, and I literally just had a zucchini, left over tomato sauce, a piece of parmesan cheese and a lemon… I was like.. uhh what to do, but then I got smart! There’s reason why I’m doing my masters 😉

You will need:

  • zucchinis (green or yellow, cut in half and seeds scooped out (you want to make it hollow)
  • tomato sauce/spaghetti sauce
  • cheese (parmesan, mozzarella, etc.)

*These are just the basic ingredients to the recipe, feel free to pimp it up!

If you have time, you can cook your zucchinis in the oven for a bit, just rub them with a little olive oil and salt and pepper, but I didn’t have the time today, so off they went!

Basically, you’re building a kind of pizza in a zucchini, so feel free to fill the hollowed out part with whatever you want, you can even out a little of cooked ground beef or turkey in it if you have it on hand. Add the sauce and top with cheese and slide it in the oven for about 30 to 35 minutes @ 350. I’m not too picky on the times, just make sure that your zucchini is cooked.

zucchini boats

What’s nice is if you take it out when it’s about done, add a little more cheese and place it under the broiler… It makes such a difference.

So that it is for today, just getting last minute things ready for my trip back home, including a traveler mug full of my new found love, David’s Tea!!! Their Mint Julep tea is to die for!!! Its a black tea with pepper mint, rooibos, pineapple, lemon zest, and coconut… it smells like vanilla and coconut and tastes exactly like it smells… Gnah! Too excited for words!!!new found love

Have a good Friday night peeps! I’m on my way back home ❤

Leave a Reply

