Canadian Thanksgiving & Stuffed Acorn Squash Deliciousness

I love Thanksgiving! Not just for the delicious food, but for the amazing colours and the time spent with my family. This year was a little hectic, since I feel more like a guest in my own home and having to fit everyone into 48h. But I think I made it! I also had time to make my delicious stuffed squash recipe, which was a hit! This morning, I woke up to a huge pile of goodies to take home (various GF rice, quinoa, sunbutter, crackers, jams and chutneys, etc., which makes me super excited to try new recipes. I seriously feel like Christmas is here early. My wonderful Nonna and amazing Mom both gave me two new cookbooks (Quinoa; The Everyday Superfood 365, and Plenty; Vibrant Vegetable Recipes from London’s Ottolenghi) I’ve been dying to have!!! I was told that these were my Christmas gifts and I shouldn’t expect anything when I come back home for the holidays!

New cookbooks!

I literally am flat out on my back on my bed so full from last night’s feast and today’s Mexican brunch (yes Mexican brunch… which was lunch at this great little family owned Mexican restaurant downtown) and a traditional trip to Sugar Mountain (I doubt I have to explain what kind of store this is). I was good though, just bought some licorice for my Nonna and some gum and mints for me.

Sugar Mountain

Enough about my weekend, here’s a bit of food for you!

I keep mentioning this stuffed squash recipe, well here we go! I got this out of “The Sprouted Kitchen” cookbook I picked up this summer at Home Sense with the Sushi Queen. I swear, I spent way to much money on food and food related things…. It’s essentially a vegetarian cookbook, with a few recipes that call for some form of meat/fish. Excellent book, I highly recommend. The author came up with a Morrocan Stuffed Squash recipe, which I tweaked a little, since I didn’t have everything she called for on hand.

You will need:

  • 1 or 2 medium acorn squash
  • 3 tbsp. olive oil (or coconut oil)
  • 1/2 cup quinoa
  • 1 can light coconut milk (12 oz. of regular low sodium broth or coconut water)
  • 1 tsp. sweet paprika
  • 1/4 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1/4 tsp. ground cumin
  • 2 tbsp. lemon zest
  • 2 tbsp. chopped fresh mint
  • 3 tbsp. chopped fresh cilantro
  • 2 tbsp. freshly squeezed orange juice
  • 1/2 cup pomegranate seeds (since pomegranates aren’t in season, I used dried cranberries)
  • 1/2 cup feta cheese

First step is to cook your squash. Once you’ve sliced it in half and removed all the seeds (which you can keep and roast them for snacks), rub the olive oil/coconut oil in it and sprinkle some salt and pepper to season and cook in the oven at 325 for 20 to 30 minutes. Make sure to pierce a few holes in the skin before cooking so it lets the steam out.

While the squash is in the oven, it’s time to prep your quinoa. Cook your quinoa in either the coconut milk, coconut water, or broth to give it a slight flavour. While that’s going, prep the rest of the herbs and spices and mix them in a dish. Once the quinoa is done, mix everything together, with the feta cheese and pomegranate seeds/dried cranberries and let sit for a few minutes.Quinoa Stuffing

By the time your quinoa is done, your squash should be as well. The last step is the easiest. Stuff the squash with your quinoa stuffing and serve as is, with a side of something else. Your squash acts like an edible bowl so go ahead and scoop that stuff out!

Thanksgiving Dinner

I will just add that yes, there is no turkey on my plate. I can’t remember the last time my mom made turkey for Thanksgiving. It’s usually ribs or lamb…Even Christmas is like this… We usually have Christmas ribs 🙂

Ok, enough of this right now, I’m going to take a nap! I haven’t eaten this much since I left home and I’m so looking forward to going to the gym tomorrow night, because right now, I feel like a big fat slug!

One thought on “Canadian Thanksgiving & Stuffed Acorn Squash Deliciousness

  1. Pingback: Lunch with my Wanna-be Gordon Ramsay | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

