Kale Chips and other miscellaneous recipes

It’s been a while! I know! I’ve been busy at work and school, and with my best friends M. & Mrs. Freeweights. They are so charming! I’m actually making a lot of progress strength wise, so that’s making me feel more confident about myself.

Anyways, busy week food wise, lots of prepping, and emptying out my freezer! I’m officially out of soup (finished my batch on Monday) and my fridge was getting quite empty so I did a quick shop for the rest of the week, just enough to make a new batch of soup… Soup is a really big time saver during the week when you don’t know what to eat for lunch. It’s like a school uniform, you pull it out and you wear it, no questions asked… I tried out a few recipes too!

First up, food prep! This time, it’s fruit prep! I’ve started using Vega Protein Powder after certain workouts (mostly involving weight lifting…it wont do much for you if you just use it after a run or a bike ride), and the easiest way for me to use it is in a smoothie! So I chopped up some fresh strawberries, black berries, cleaned out a pomegranate (not pictured), blueberries (not pictured), and bananas (not pictured… I usually have half a banana in the morning, the rest of it I chop it up and freeze it so I don’t waste it!) All of those in a plastic bag (or Tupperware for the bananas) and into the freezer. It’s really convenient, and less expensive than the frozen stuff…Yes it takes time, but I do it when I have my supper in the oven, or while watching a TV show or movie!

frozen fruit

Second recipe, which turned into a third one. I had a squash cooking in the oven a few nights ago, and they usually don’t take more than 35 minutes…but this one was really stubborn and took an hour to cook! I was too hungry to wait around for it to be done, so went ahead with my squashless dinner… Thing is, what do you do with a cooked squash? Well! You make squash and yam (sweet potato) mash! Yep! I boiled my big fat sweet potato (that I diced) until it was pretty mushy, drained the water and then added my squash and mashed it all up. It’s not the prettiest of things, and be my guest and add some maple syrup or butter to it, but I like it plain with a little olive oil and some spiced. It was pretty darn good! But a lot of leftovers…

Squash and Yam Mash with some zucchini and mushrooms

Again, I was too hungry to wait for the brown rice I was cooking, as well as my cauliflower ‘chips’, so I dug in.

Oh yeah, the cauliflower! So I found this recipe on Instagram by the user @MindoverMunch… She’s got some wicked recipes, please go check them out! She had posted this Curry Style cauliflower chip thing a few weeks ago and I was curious to try it. It’s really simple

You need

  • 1/2 a cauliflower
  • 2 tsp. lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 tsp. curry powder
  • 1/2 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Wash and cut your cauliflower, then mix in the spices and toss well to really coat them. Place them on a baking sheet covered in foil and cook @400 for 30 minutes.

I think I put in too much lemon juice in mine…It was good, but I would change up some of the spices to make it even better. And you can totally do that, switching things up!

Ok so back to the Squash and Yam mash. I had a ton of leftovers, so I really didn’t know what to do with them until I quickly saw a link somewhere about a type of spaghetti sauce made with butternut squash. I think it was in my Jamie Oliver news feed but I’m not too sure so that got me thinking.

I ended up making a type of ‘sauce’ with the mash, some sautéed zucchini, yellow pepper and onions and a can of tuna. It actually turned out quite good. Surprisingly… I wasn’t expecting anything extraordinary out of that recipe… It was really just what I had left in the fridge until I went shopping today.

You will need

  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1/2 an onion, minced
  • 1 bell pepper, colour of your choice, chopped
  • can of tuna
  • Squash and Yam mash

Plop everything in a pan sauté your veggies, once they are to your liking, add in tuna and yam and ‘simmer’ until heated through. I added about 3 tsp. of water to it just to loosen it a little… Didn’t make much of a difference, but still good.

Serve with some pasta, and a side of salad (feta, raw pumpkin seeds, orange bell pepper)!

IMG_0951

*Note about Jamie’s butternut squash sauce: I still don’t know what it is, but my guess is that since it’s quite a creamy squash, he probably puréed it along with some spices and other things to make a kind of sauce… Will look into it and let you know!

Alright, last little thing. I’m currently baking a banana bread… I have my fingers crossed that it’s as good as it smells, I’m trying a variation of a delicious recipe I had but making it gluten free… I can only hope!

Also…if you’re looking for something crunchy and salty to munch on, I highly recommend eating Kale Chips. It’s my go-to snack for when I get the chance to catch up on Dancing with the Stars and Downton Abbey… So good!!! The recipe is posted earlier in the blog!

IMG_0950

Leave a Reply

