First Time For Everything: Pumpkin Donuts!

There really is a first time for everything. For the first time in my life, I had doughnuts and something made with pumpkin. I’ve never been able to eat doughnuts or pumpkin pie because of my allergies, but I have found the most amazing recipe that puts both into one… Pumpkin Doughnuts!!! And they were amazing!

I found the recipe on this blog and they are the easiest and fastest baked goods I’ve made so far.

I also found a spice mix to make your own pumpkin pie spice!

You will need

  • 3 tbsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cloves

Put them in a little container and mix them together.

You will need for Pumpkin Doughnuts

  • 1 3/4 cups flour (I used gluten free stuff)
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg (2 tbsp. Greek Yogurt)
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup pumpkin puree (not pumpkin pie filling)
  • 1/2 cup whole milk

Preheat oven @ 350 degrees

For the sugar coating for the pumpkin doughnuts

  • 1/2 to 1 stick of unsalted butted, melted
  • 2/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp. cinnamon

* Mix the cinnamon and sugar together in a bowl or a plastic baggy

Easy as 1-2-3. Mix the wet ingredients together and mix the dry ingredients together but separate from the wet. Then slowly add dry to wet. Once everything combined, grease a mini muffin tin (the ones that make 24 mini muffins) or grab a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and roll little dough balls and place them in the cups or on the sheet. Slide into oven for 15 minutes.

Pumpkin Doughnut Mix

Once they are out of the oven, dip them into the melted butter, then roll them or drop them into the cinnamon and sugar spice to coat them.

Final step, place on a plate and wait until they are all done before eating them all.

Ok so it's not a doughnut per say... I didn't have the chance to take a picture of the real doughnuts since my coworkers ate all of them...and I had a few too...

Ok so it’s not a doughnut per say… I didn’t have the chance to take a picture of the real doughnuts since my coworkers ate all of them…and I had a few too…

I had a genius flash, but haven’t had the time to act on it, but next time I will make this recipe, I am totally dipping the pumpkin doughnuts into dark melted chocolate and putting them on a stick to make a pretend cake pop… such a smart girl I am!!

Oh, also now that my exams are done, I can eat normal food, and not frozen leftovers, so I’m hoping to experiment this week to find something interesting to talk about!

For now, off to do my dishes

One thought on “First Time For Everything: Pumpkin Donuts!

  1. Pingback: #PSL Inspired Cookies | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

