Pumpkin Chaï Tea Muffins

After all the rain and wind, and snow, we had this week, I really needed to get out and stock up on some tea from my one and only, David’s Tea. Took the bus down to the old part of town with a friend, and what do we see when we get there? ZOMBIES!!! It was a funny coincidence, since I had been chatting with an acquaintance about stocking up on tea and food, and she told me I was doing a good thing, incase of a Zombie apocalypse… I really felt like I was on the set of the Walking Dead.. They had the scary music playing and everything! Sadly, it wasn’t too big of an event, the one back home is HUGE.

Back to the tea. Much to my disappointment, David’s Tea will most likely be discontinuing their Mint Julep tea. SO SAD! It really is my alltime favourite tea ever… (HINT HINT). I ended up buying the last what they had. Also, I went on a mission there to buy Pumpkin Chaï tea, but since it’s now November 3d, they don’t have it in store anymore. WHAT?! Only 3 days after Halloween?! Well, I guess it’s typical, since Starbucks already has their Christmas cups out… I ended up buying their Chocolate Chili Chaï as well as their Orange Chocolate pu’reh tea. Off we went after that to a second tea shop, near my work, to find the Pumpkin Chaï tea, that I knew was still in stock. And there it was… delicious and oh so smelly. The owner of the shop said that after this tin was done, there was no more until next October… What is it with people… what happens if I want that tea, in like, 3 months from now… Gnah! So I got some of that (for a recipe I will be posting in a few seconds) and another orange and chocolate tea, this time, Euphoria by Kusmi. This tea shop, La Maison des 100 Thé is pretty cool, for those who live in my neighborhood and who want to know more, leave me a message.

So back to the reason why I was looking for Pumpkin Chai tea. I saw this recipe online, and I really wanted to try it…. However, the cookies turned out to be muffins!

You will need

  • 1 tsp. of Pumpkin Chai tea (brand of your choice), ground to a fine powder (I used my coffee grinder)
  • 1 cup of flour (I ended up using about 1 2/3 cup of flour)
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 egg ( 1 heaping tbsp. of Greek yogurt)
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tbsp. melted butter (I KNEW I FORGOT TO ADD SOMETHING, THEREFORE OPTIONAL
  • 1 tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  1. Mix dry with dry and wet with wet, then slowly add try to wet. At first, before adding the milk, extra flour and forgetting the butter, it was a really crumbly, almost like sand, batter
  2. add some milk, and if way to soupy, add more flour, until you get a slightly thicker batter… not thick enough to make a cookie out of it, but soupy enough to be muffin dough
  3. line muffin tray with papers, fill the cups 3/4 of the way
  4. bake at 350 for 20 minutes

They make perfect little muffins! With just a hint of the Pumpkin Chai… I’m curious to try this recipe with a different tea… Maybe with the Orange Chocolate one from David’s Tea!!

If you choose to stay with the regular recipe, it should give you enough batter to make 4 cookies.

Pumpkin Chai muffins

Oh, on a final note about baking… I really dislike Robin Hood’s Gluten Free flour. It’s sweetened with beet sugar, and for those who eat beets, you will notice that it does taste a lot like them. After using a few different mixes of flours, I have to say that Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free mix is my favourite. When making baked goods or bread, the dough always turns out nice, like it should with regular flour, and it doesn’t give it that extra little taste, which sadly affects the tastes of the recipe… I made a banana loaf the other day and didn’t post it because in my eyes it was a big flop. The recipe itself was a great one, and I will post it once I try it with a different blend of flour, but it had that beet taste to it, and beet and bananas don’t really mix!

If you have any suggestions of flours I could try, please let me know! I’m looking for one that DOES NOT include almond flour, or cashew flour.

Leave a Reply

