A Day In The Life : Gluten Free Pizza and Curried Salmon

Today, my day consisted of me waking up, a wee bit hung over from my uneventful and almost pathetic night of making homemade pizza and watching a crap movie all while having a few too many scotches (I’m sorry dad if you read this…but not really, since I take after you for my love of scotch). It was a little rough getting up and out of bed, but had a productive morning at the gym, then off to get my bus pass done (lost it last week, along with my student card, which was found, but not the bus pass…) and a quick stop at David’s Tea to get some little tea pouches so I don’t need to bring my Bodum to school with me when I want to make tea… I may have bought another 2 teas… Ok, I meant to buy them last time but I didn’t need to leave with 5 different teas… so today I got their Crème Caramel Rooibos tea and their Mint Chocolate Rooibos tea… I’ve only tried the caramel one yet, and so far, if you’re looking to have a hit of sweetness without all the calories, I’d definitely suggest that! Oh, and I bought PC’s Mint Chocolate tea as well the other day (it was on special, ok!?!)… Great as well! I’m sad, but happy, to say that my Starbucks addiction is gone…On to tea!!! I literally have 9 different kinds of tea now.. I was told by my best-guy-friend Randy that I needed a tea-tervention… Maybe he’s right? For the meanwhile (before anyone decides to drive 500km + to perform the tea-tervention) I will keep drinking my tea in peace.

I mentioned briefly that I made homemade pizza last night… YES I DID AND IT WAS GREAT. I kept the family tradition alive as well. See, when we make pizza    at my mom’s, its a whole family thing… We usually play some Queen (Bohemian Rhapsody to be precise) and everybody pitches in to make incredible pizzas. So, last night, with some old school Justin Timberlake blasting, I made my own homemade pizza, from scratch. And it was good.

Now you might be wondering how I managed to make it gluten free, well here’s the catch! They have all these pre-made doughs at the stores, which are great if you’re ina hurry, but crappy since they are loaded with salt. There are the big pitas you can use as well, but again, more gluten. Then there’s the gluten free stuff, loaded with eggs. I really don’t catch a break here. I finally found Bob’s Red Mill Pizza Dough flour mix at Loblaws last week and was dying to use it. The instructions are on the back on how to make it, and it also tells you how to make it egg free (by using ground flax seeds and water, which I talked about in my first ever post)!!! It takes about 35 minutes to get it ready to go (20 to let the dough rise, 15 in the oven to cook it a little, then another 5 to 10 with the toppings).

What you’ll need

  • pizza dough/crust (GF or regular, of your choice)
  • veggies
  • tomato sauce
  • cheese

I went for a plain old veggie pizza, topped with artichoke hearts and capers. I almost put in some asparagus, but decided to keep that for tonight. You can put whatever you want on your pizza. I think my best pizza yet was an birthday pizza I had made my ex… I had made a blue cheese (goat cheese for my half) prosciutto arugula and dried fig pizza. It was the bomb! Definitely something to make again. Back to last night’s pizza. I had zucchini, mushrooms, red peppers, artichokes, capers, marbled cheese with some green onions (I forgot to buy an onion when grocery shopping) and various herbs. Quite delicious.

IMG_1247

My only remark for those using the GF mix, make sure to leave the crust in on its own for the maximum time on the package… I didn’t, and although most of the crust was cooked through, some parts weren’t. A definite 9.5/10 for me!

 

Tonight’s dinner will have to be one of my best yet. However, I cheated for tonight’s dinner. Usually the only ingredients I cheat with are Srirracha and soy sauce. Everything else is from scratch. All my sauces and pastes. Well, tonight I used a gift my mom gave me when I was back home for Thanksgiving. When my Nonna (my grandmother) was in the hospital for her back surgery, they stopped in a little town called Perth and found this local farmer that was selling his homemade curry paste. I have Perth Pepper and Pestle’s Curry Cardamom Sauce. IT IS AMAZING. It smells a little strong at first when you open the jar, but it makes an amazing glaze for fish and pork chops. It has a nice sweetness to it, and its not overpowering. It’s a perfect mix of spice and sweetness.

IMG_1248

I decided to use it as a glaze for some Atlantic salmon I bought yesterday. I was trying to figure out what to do with the leftover veggies that I had sliced up but didn’t use for my pizza, so I decided to fry them up with some asparagus…then it hit me… Why not make some type of pasta dish!

For the fish, you will need

  • filet of salmon, or rainbow trout
  • 1 to 2 tsp. of Perth Pepper and Pestle’s Curry Cardamom Sauce
  • IMG_1249

I wouldn’t use a white fish for this recipe. Since the taste of white fish is so mild, I feel that you’d be left with just the glaze and, not that it’s not good, but you don’t want just that.

For the pasta dish, you will need

  • zucchini
  • mushrooms
  • bell peper
  • a handful of cherry tomatoes cut in halves
  • a good handful of asparagus spears, woody part cut off (the bottom) and cut in bite size pieces

Step 1

  • smear your fish with the curry paste and put in the oven at 350 and cook until done

Step 2

  • put a pot of water on to boil for your pasta

Step 3

  • prep your veggies (remember, you can add what you want to this, the vegetables I had on had were leftovers from last night)
  • in a mixing bowl, add your veggies, 1 1/2 tsp. of olive oil and powdered garlic and oregano and mix it up

Step 4

  • depending on the size of your filet, your fish should be nearly done, once done you can take it out and let it rest for a while
  • in a frying pan, add your veggie mix and fry them up

Step 5

  • once the pasta is done, drain it and add it to the veggie frying pan
  • once the fish is done, add it to the veggie frying pan
  • break up the fish and toss the pasta to make sure that it gets coated with whatever oil is left from the veggies and the sauce from the fish

Serve warm.

IMG_1253

Quite simply an amazing and satisfying dish!

 

Leave a Reply

