Celebrating the holidays with Chocolate Bark

I’m back!

I finished my first session of my Master’s program on the 20th of December and took the train back home on the 21st. I was so happy to get back home, you have no idea! I do have multiple recipes to post, but I will start with a quick and easy one because I actually have bread in the oven I need to watch.

My favourite Xmas treat recipe comes from my cousin Jody. Every year she makes this amazing white and dark chocolate bark with crushed candy canes sprinkled trough. I try my best to make it last more than a day, but its quite hard! So if you are looking for something festive, here is the recipe!

 

You will need:

  • Bakers (or any other baking quality chocolate) dark chocolate, 12 oz.
  • Bakers white chocolate, 12 oz.
  • Peppermint oil extract
  • candy canes

How to:

  1. Melt the dark chocolate in a double boiler, exactly like I did for my homemade Reese’s buttercups
  2. When it’s almost completely melted, add some peppermint extract. I like it quite peppery, some don’t, so start with a little and taste as you go
  3. When completely melted, cover a cookie sheet with aluminum foil and spread the chocolate evenly across (about 1/2 inch thick)
  4. Put in fridge to cool and solidify
  5. While the dark chocolate is chilling, repeat the same steps with the white chocolate
  6. Crush the candy canes (either with a rolling pin or in a food processor) and divide the crushed canes in two
  7. Add half of the canes to the white chocolate
  8. Once melted, spread onto the dark chocolate and sprinkle the leftover canes on top
  9. Leave in fridge overnight
  10. Break off into uneven pieces and enjoy

 

bark

 

(Not my picture but it’s what it looks like all done)

Next recipe will be vegetarian samosas!

Hope you’re all having a wonderful time 🙂

Leave a Reply

