My version of Pho Soup

I’m super late in posting this entry, it was actually almost ready to post back in late December, but I’ve been so caught up in everything that its the first time I can take a little time to post this.

First dish of the holidays was a delicious Vegetable Jalfrezi served with my Spicy Chicken (both in previous posts). I think my mom had missed me in the kitchen because next thing I know, I had a list of different dishes she wanted me to cook up while I was home.

One thing that I have missed making is Pho Soup. I had found this simple recipe once while surfing the web for an eggless dumpling recipe and fell on this. There are many different types of Pho, with different ingredients, but here’s a quick and easy base soup you can make and add whatever you want to it!

You will need

  • 2 tbsp. canola oil
  • 2 cups mushrooms (shiitake, cremini, enoki, etc.) roughly chopped
  • 4 scallions (green onions) chopped finely
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 inch piece of ginger, peeled and minced
  • 5 cups broth (the reduced sodium one leaves the soup quite bland tasting, so I add salt to taste)
  • 2 cups water
  • 4 oz. rice vermicelli noodles (don’t use a whole pack! A third to a half is perfect)
  • 2 cups shredded chicken (optional)
  • 12 oz. of baby bok choy, ends trimmed
  • juice of 1 small lime
  • 1 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce

IMG_1698

How to

  1. heat canola oil over medium heat in a large stock pot
  2. sauté the garlic, ginger, scallions, and mushrooms (about 7 to 10 minutes)
  3. add broth and 2 cups water and bring to a boil
  4. add the vermicelli and bok choy and cook for another 2 to 5 minutes until the noodles are cooked.IMG_1699

Serve it up with a squirt of Srirracha and lime juice and soy sauce… Bean sprouts and coriander are also excellent toppings! My mom likes carrot bits in her pho, which is why there’s a bowl of them on the previous picture… It’s not a very traditional pho! You can also cook chicken thighs with a paprika, chili, lime and srirracha rub and either shred pieces of the thighs in the soup or just plop it at the bottom of the bowl before you ladle your soup!

pho soupFinished product. It was one of my better ones 🙂

Leave a Reply

