Is it a Samosa or a Mimosa???

I had a few friends over during the holidays for our traditional night of “Asshole” (the card game) and I was trying to figure out what I could make that was healthier than chips but just as easy to eat while playing an intense game of cards and name calling. I was talking to a friend and asking her advice on my decisions, and for a second she thought I was planning on making Mimosas… the alcoholic beverage… It was a little funny… OK, ok, you would have had to be there to find it funny

Lucky for me, my Mom got me this amazing cookbook, Vegetarian Appetizers; simply delicious recipes for easy entertaining by Paulette Mitchell.IMG_1982

It has a bunch of really easy and yummy recipes for pretty much all occasions and I stumbled upon a recipes for Samosas… And two different types of dips…TADA!

So. My first recipe out of this book are the Vegetable Samosas. I fiddled around with the recipe because I could not, for the life of me, find Wonton wrappers! I did 3 grocery stores in one day and none had them! I didn’t bother driving to the other end of the world to the T n’ T where I know they have them since I was kind of in a hurry. This recipe makes about 30 samosas (the filling). It will all depend on what kind of wrapper you decide to use.

For the filling, you will need:

  • 3 potatoes, peeled and cut into 2 inch thick slices (they will cook faster that way and be easier to mash)
  • 1 tbsp. canola oil
  • 1/4 cup finely chopped onion
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tbsp. jalapeno pepper, minced
  • 1 tsp. fresh ginger, minced
  • 1 tsp. ground coriander
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 1/2 cup frozen baby peas
  • 1/3 cup frozen corn kernels
  • 2 green onions (white and green parts), finely chopped
  • 2 tbsp. coarsely chopped fresh cilantro
  • 1 tbsp. fresh lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp. garam masala
  • salt and pepper to taste

IMG_1729

To make the filling :

  1. bring a medium pot (or whatever your potatoes fit in) of salted water to a boil over high heat
  2. add potatoes and when it starts to boil again, reduce to medium
  3. cover and cook until tender, drain well IMG_1731
  4. While the potatoes are boiling away, in a large non-stick skillet over medium-high heat, heat the oil
  5. add onion (not green ones yet) and garlic, stir constantly until the onion is translucent  IMG_1732
  6. add jalapeno, ginger, coriander, and cumin, and cook for 1 minute, constantly stirring
  7. add the remaining filling ingredients, EXCEPT THE POTATOES, and remove from heat
  8. Now, time to get angry and mash dem potatoes. Not to a purée, but you want them coarsely mashedIMG_1733
  9. Once nicely mashed, add them to the skillet and stir until everything is combined evenly
  10. Set it aside to cool

Now, how to wrap/fold the samosas and how to cook them. The recipe calls for you to fry these babies in oil, but I went the baked way because first, I’ve never really fried anything in oil before, and I find it super greasy. And baking is nice and easy because you can jam a bunch of them in the oven at once!

HOWEVER, if you do decide to go with the frying method, I highly suggest using wonton or what they call spring roll wrappers (egg roll skins). These are usually made with flour and eggs, so they were out of the question for me, for obvious reasons. They do fry nicely. DO NOT go for rice wrappers… I have doubts on how well these would bake or fry. ALTERNATIVE wrappers are sheets of phyllo pastry. Not puff pastry, I don’t even want to imagine what the samosas would look like… Phyllo is nice and thin, and fairly easy to use. It is egg free, however NOT gluten-free.

Now to the folding of the samosas. This method works for both wonton and phyllo sheets, but I am using phyllo for this recipe. Also, if you have someone around that can help you with brushing the butter and folding the sheets, its highly recommended in enlisting their help. I have done it a few times without, and its a pain.

  1. Thaw out your phyllo sheets (room temperature), since they are found in the frozen section of the grocery store
  2. Melt a good 1/2 cup of butter. You will be brushing this on the phyllo sheets
  3. Once the phyllo is thawed out, unfold them from the packaging, and place a damp towel over them (THEY DRY OUT EXTREMELY FAST)
  4. One sheet at a time, place it on a hard clean surface and with a clean paintbrush or basting brush, brush the melted butter onto the sheet (not too much, but enough so the sheet absorbs it)
  5. With a sharp knife, or pizza rolling knife thing, cut 4 strips of phyllo (inside the box, there are usually instructions if ever you’re not sure)
  6. Place a small blob of the samosa filling at one end of the strip and proceed to fold it like a triangleFOLDING PHYLLO
  7. Once done, place on a baking tray lined with parchment paper and brush with a little butter to help seal the folds
  8. Repeat

Once all the filling is used up or all the sheets are used up, put in oven at 350 and bake them or about 20 minutes, or until the they go golden. ***If using wontons, omit the butter, but brush the samosa with water once it is all folded up***

This picture isn’t mine, I sadly didn’t have the time to take one before everybody ate them 😦 But this is what they will look like!

not my samosas

I served mine with a roasted red pepper hummus and lebne with zaatar, which is a middle eastern herbed yogurt cheese. I will post these recipes later!

 

 

Leave a Reply

