Oat flour + Banana + Coconut + Dates + Cranberries = <3

So when I got home, I bought a brunch of bananas. But I don’t eat bananas all that much. So I ended up with 2 bananas that were almost past their prime. And I was tired of my banana muffin recipe so I wanted something new, something exciting. Sitting in my cupboard were unsweetened shredded coconut, dates, dried cranberries and a jar of old fashion oats.

Why not make an oat flour banana, coconut, date and cranberry loaf! Best idea ever.

Instead of buying a bag of oat flour, all you need it to use a food processor or blender and pulse your oats in it until it has a flour texture. You save big bucks by doing so! I also suggest you buy the 1 kilo bag of old fashion oats instead of the little boxes or individual packets.

So, for this amazing recipe you will need

  • 2 cups of oat flour (about 3 cups of regular oats, blended)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1 tbsp. olive oil or coconut oil (I used olive oil)
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar, and 1 tbsp. of it for dusting
  • 1 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup of whatever you want (chocolate chips, nuts, seeds, dried fruit, etc)
  • 3 tbsp. of oats for dusting

I used a mix of cranberries, chopped dates and shredded coconut for the 2/3 cup of whatever you want. You could use that and add nuts or whatever else.

How to

  1. preheat oven at 350
  2. line a loaf tin with parchment paper (saves on using butter)
  3. in one bowl, mash the bananas and then beat (with an electrical beater if you have one) in the sugar, vanilla and oil for about 2-3 minutes until its smooth and creamy
  4. slowly add the oat flour and mix until combined
  5. fold in your whatever
  6. pour into the loaf tin and sprinkle the 1 tbsp. of brown sugar and 3 tbsp. of oats
  7. bake for about 45-50 minutes or until a knife comes out clean

IMG_1873

My only disappointment with this amazing loaf is that it’s quite crumbly but mushy at the same time? I’m going to have to make it again with the right amount of bananas (I only had 2) and add some regular old fashion oats to the mix, to see if it binds a little more… Other than that, it’s a delicious loaf, great for breakfasts!

Leave a Reply

