Procrastination 101 : Making Swedish Cinnamon Buns Instead of Writing Research Paper

I should have quit school a long time ago and become a chef. Ok, not really, I should just have been smarter and not failed my Organic Chemistry class, which would have let me get into my dream program/job, becoming a certified Dietitian. I have learned to love psychology, and I do not regret the choices I have made so far, because when there’s a will, there’s a way. I will be taking a certificate program in nutrition this fall, which will allow me to make nutritional recommendations, but not sound like John Smith, who finds his info on IG or any other form of erroneous social media.

Anyways, I am currently working on a research paper for my Ergonomics professor, compiling all of the best ergonomic practices implemented in the workplace (think about proper seating arrangements and workstation configuration). It’s actually super interesting, and surprisingly, I would like to pursue my studies and do a PhD. in this field (if I get the opportunity).

But yes, today was leg day at the gym, stopped at Bikini Village to see a friend, grabbed a quick coffee and a hello to my favorite Starbucks baristas and then waddled home in the rain… I didn’t really feel like starting my paper then, so had a bite to eat, pulled out one of the recipes I’ve been meaning to try and rummaged through my cupboard.

I realized that I should have waited to have all the proper ingredients before making this recipe, but I was just dying to try it. As I am typing this, I’m nodding my head and agreeing with myself… Shoulda waited but the results were pretty good! They have a similar taste to Beaver Tails (you Canadians will know what I’m talking about), but since they are gluten free, they aren’t as light and fluffy as regular buns. As you’ll see in the finished pictures, they look dry and crumbly, a little bit like shortbread. Unfortunately, that is caused by the lack of gluten. But they are still delicious!

I’m an avid fan of Jamie Oliver, and was introduced to the Sorted Foods team through Jamie’s FoodTube on YouTube. The guys at sorted are great, and they provide their fans with links to other foodies that they look up to. Last week they suggested Laura’s Mess, a Swedish girl with a bunch of amazing food pics and authentic recipes. When I saw that her Kanelbullar (Swedish Cinnamon Buns) were egg-free, I jumped for joy! 

So today I attempted to make Kanelbullar aka Swedish Cinnamon Buns with gluten-free flour. Gluten is key in baking since it acts as a binding agent, so I was super afraid when I started prepping my ingredients because it was the first time that I ever attempted to bake a non bready (read muffin/cake) type of dessert. As a note, do not use Quinoa flour for this recipe. It has an overpowering and distinctive flavor which takes away from the key ingredients, in this case cinnamon and vanilla. 

I also followed the measurements Laura has provided since it’s the first time I made this recipe.

For this recipe, you will need

  • 50g of fresh yeast (not the bread machine type)
  • 150g salted butter (I use unsalted)
  • 500ml milk
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 175g white sugar (ultra fine if you can get your hands on it)
  • 1.5kg plain flour (I used the Irresistible by Metro brand of Gluten Free flour, which is by far the best I have used)

IMG_0167

To begin, melt your butter, sugar, salt and milk in a saucepan on low heat. Once everything melted and lukewarm, transfer to a large mixing bowl and add the yeast. Whisk away until the yeast has dissolved. IMG_0166

Now to knead. You can used a mixer with dough hooks if you are fancy and own one, or the good old way, by punching away at it. Make sure the dough is well combined before you hand knead it, and sprinkle some flour on the CLEAN surface you will be whacking away at it. It really is a good arm exercise, considering it was leg day today… You’ll feel less guilty eating these after that kitchen workout!

Once well kneaded, the dough should be smooth and not sticky. Once that consistency has been achieved, place it in a bowl, cover it with a clean tea towel and put it in a warm place / draught-free for 30 minutes, or until it has doubled in size.

While the dough is proofing, you can make the cinnamon filling.

For the filling, you will need

  • 120g salted butter, softened (unsalted is fine)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp vanilla sugar (you can buy this, or make it by scrapping a vanilla bean pod into the sugar, or adding 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract)
  • 100g white sugar (ultrafine if you can find it)
  • 1 1/2 tbsp powdered cinnamon

To glaze, you will need to brush the buns with an egg, but I just use butter… Not the same obviously, but it wont kill me!

Whisk everything with an electric batter until creamy and thick and leave in a cool place.IMG_0170

Once the dough has proofed, divide it into 4 balls, since it’s easier to work with less dough, and you can always freeze the extra (Which is what I did because it makes A LOT)

Roll it out, on a floured surface, and shape into a big rectangle. Spread 1/4 of the cinnamon butter on it and carefully and tightly roll into a cylinder. Once you’ve rolled it, you can cut it into thumb-thick (about 4cm) wedges and place them in cupcake/muffin paper liners. Repeat with as many dough balls as you want.

IMG_0172

IMG_0174

Once again, cover with a clean tea towel and store them in a warm, draught-free place for 30 minutes, or until they have doubled in size. 

Glaze them with your eIMG_0175gg or butter and put them into the oven at 435F for 8-10 minutes.

Et Voilà, Swedish homemade Cinnamon buns. Definitely not your store-bought style, but they are pretty cute.photo 3 photo 2

As I mentioned earlier in the post, I had to do a 50/50 with regular GF flour and Quinoa flour. DONT. Just don’t use Quinoa flour for baked goods unless they specifically call for it. Just like olive oil, Quinoa flour has a distinctive and overpowering taste, and when added to baked goods, it alters the final product. It has a bitter taste as well, and after trying a few of these, I’m definitely going to make a new batch of dough with just regular GF flour.        

For those who aren’t celiac/gluten intolerant, go with flour that is specifically made for baking (usually finer) or regular flour. The results will be amazing!

Leave a Reply

