Dear Food…. I Love You

Tomorrow is the big day! I’ve sent in my final draft and pictures for the feature tomorrow and everything is looking great! So excited to see the final results!

So, as I mentioned a few posts ago, I bought myself a new cookbook while iI was back home, Heart Smart by Bonnie Stern. It’s such an amazing book, I highly recommend it!

She has this recipe in it that I was dying to try, and let me tell you, its my favourite new dish! It takes a little while to make but its simple as pie.

Roasted Cauliflower and Bell Pepper Pasta!

You will need
– cauliflower head, washed, chopped florets
– 2 bell peppers, washed and cut in halves
– 1 garlic clove
– 2 tbsp of olive oil
– 2 tbsp balsamic vinegar
– fresh basil, shredded
– black olives, pitted and chopped
– gluten free pasta, preferably penne, but anything goes

Add ons
– goat cheese/feta cheese
– cherry tomatoes
– chicken/tofu

Once your cauliflower is washed and cut, toss it in a bowl with some salt and 1 tbsp of olive oil.

Place both cauliflower and bell peppers on a baking tray and place in the oven @ 450 for 25 minutes until the cauliflower is golden and cooked through. I like to turn the broiler on for a few minutes so that the peppers roast a little more.

While that’s in the oven, prep your garlic, basil, olives and add ons. Dont forget to cook your pasta!

Last step is simple, peel the skin off your peppers and cut them in bite sizes. Place everything in a big bowl and toss with the balsamic vinegar and 1 tbsp of olive oil.

Eh voila! Simple quick delicious supper!

IMG_4976.JPG

One thought on “Dear Food…. I Love You

  1. Pingback: Cookbook Guide for All Levels | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

