For Once I Got Creative: Mashed Potatoes and Dijon & Dill Chicken

Right. I did it. I set foot in the gym for the second time this week. I have been so out of it in the past few weeks that it took all of my willpower to set one foot in-front of the other and walk into that gym.

Let’s just say that when I got out, I had two sticks of jello where my legs were supposed to be.

I was totally uninspired by the wilted spinach and wrinkly green beans in my fridge, and I was starting to think I’d be eating frozen leftovers again, but I glimpsed my jar of Dijon mustard… Game on!

First up, Dijon and Dill Chicken Thighs. I was given this recipe by a good friend’s mom over the summer, and since then, I’ve been craving it like crazy! It’s so simple, and so delish!

You’ll need

  • equal parts of
    • Dijon mustard (smooth or grainy)
    • PLAIN yogurt
  • Dill (dried or fresh, finely chopped)

Super simple and basic marinade, all you need to do now is coat your chicken with it (breast, thigh, leg, etc.) and let it sit for a few minutes to a few hours. When you’re ready to cook, loosely wrap your chicken in foil (en papillotte if you want to be fancy) and cook it at 350 for 40 to 45 minutes. You’re going to want to open the packets at the 45 minute mark and either let them cook or broil for a few so that some of the moisture escapes. ***Obviously cooking times will depend on the type of cut you use, so always check before you serve!***

This Dijon and Dill Chicken is excellent served up with basmati rice and a side of Ratatouille (see older posts for one version of the recipe….new one to come soon!)

Tonight’s side dish was mashed potatoes. Honestly, mashed potatoes is one of the most comforting dishes ever. I don’t eat it often, and I’m super picky on how they are done, but I think I have mastered the art. Oh… It was also my first time EVER making mashed potatoes. I’ve seen my mom and grandma do it…heck even my brother makes mashed potatoes… but not me. Side note… my dad is taking this vegan (?) or vegetarian online cooking class and on one of his assignments, he had to cook two batches of potatoes, one in unsalted water, and the other in salted water with a pinch of dried thyme. You can really taste the difference! So tonight’s potatoes were inspired by that assignment.

You will need

  • potatoes ( 2 small-ish new potatoes, peeled, diced)
  • water (enough to cover the chopped taters)
  • salt (1/2 tsp is more than enough)
  • dried rosemary (1/2 tsp + a dash for good measure)

Peel, chop and boil los potatos, set the pot on medium-high heat and boil them potatoes until tender. Dont forget to salt the water and add the rosemary..at the same times as the potatoes… Drain the water, add a tiny piece of butter, and about 1/4 cup of milk (or enough so your potatoes get to the creaminess you desire) and mash away. Since today was leg day, I used the potato masher and not the electric beater… More exercise never hurt anyone.

So there you have it, chicken, potatoes, oh and grilled broccoli. Nice, cheap easy dinner for 1.

Now on to the next post

Leave a Reply

