Out with the Old, In with the New – featuring Apple and Red Pepper Bruschetta

Hello lovelies!

I’m super behind on everything it seems. These last few weeks have been quite hectic! I knew going into my Masters that there was a lot of work to be done, but in all honesty, this is definitely something else.

Also, I want to congratulate my mom and step-dad on the amazing wedding and party that took place last weekend. Quite the event! So many family members and friends that I hadn’t seen in over a year, so much food, and maybe a bit too much wine…

At the wedding, I had the chance to catch up with one of my mother and step-dad’s good friend, who gifted me with a lovely dish full of his homemade bruschetta at my moving away party last year. We started talking about our love of food, and how I had used his dish to bring my own version of bruschetta to a wine and cheese party back in February. I realized that I hadn’t posted that particular recipe, and decided that it would be the next one I posted. So here we are!

This time last year, I was home for Thanksgiving and my mom gifted me a lovely vegetarian appetizer cookbook (by Paulette Mitchell) in which I found this recipe. It is quite refreshing, and also can be a quick twist on your typical Saturday night nachos!

For this recipe, you will need

  • 1 Granny Smith apple, chopped finely (you can peel it if you want, but I like the little crunch)
  • Half of a red bell pepper, chopped finely
  • A handful of fresh cilantro, finely chopped ( the recipe calls for 2 tbsp, but I go for the taste)
  • 2 tbsp. chopped red onion
  • 2 tbsp. cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/2 tsp. of honey
  • Brie cheese
  • Baguette
  • bruschetta 1

Super simple, takes about 5 minutes tops. Chop and mince your apple, bell pepper, red onion and cilantro, and put in a bowl. Stir together the cider vinegar, olive oil and honey, and pour it onto the chopped ingredients. Toss to coat.

This is great as is, but better with the next steps. You can prep it in advance (keeps for 2 days in the fridge) and to have it ready for whatever the occasion.

Next step is the fun step. Slice your baguette into little rounds, plop them on a baking sheet, top with a spoonful of the apple and pepper bruschetta. Slice your Brie cheese…not too thick but not too thin… Top the bruschetta with the Brie, then place the baking sheet under the broiler for about a minute… Make sure you check them often so you don’t accidentally burn them.

bruschetta 2

There you go! Disclaimer. I cannot eat Baguette, or any other bread, so I went with rice crackers. It adds a nice little crunch… and made me realize that the apple and red pepper topping would be nice as your typical nacho toppings. So its up to you to try and let me know what you think!

Big thank you to Lauren for being my taste tester this weekend. Girl, you’re the reason why this blog exists and I’m happy that I finally got the chance to cook for you in my own kitchen!

Oh and I have purple hair now. K Bye. I just had to share my joy of having lilac hair. And also, super late, but happy National Coming Out Day! I came out for the first time 6 years ago, but went back into hiding in the closet for a while. Now I’m officially out and about! So there we have it. Out with the Old, In with the New!purple 2

Leave a Reply

