Chapter 5 : Bake a Banana Chocolate Cake Instead of Writing a Paper that’s Due Tomorrow

I’ve decided that, if this school thing doesn’t work out, I’m heading into stand-up comedy and writing self-help and how-to guides. Because honestly, I am apparently much better at giving advice and poking fun at myself than I am at Labour Law and Negotiations…

Today’s genius idea was to write a self-help/how-to guide for students. It will be called “Procrastinating 101: How To Make Your Postgraduate Studies Count”… Chapter 5 : ” Bake a Banana Chocolate Cake Instead Of Writing A Paper That Is Due Tomorrow”.

I’m quite positive that it will become a bestseller. As for the stand-up comedy, it’s more along the lines of failed relationships/relationship advice. I seem to have a funny story for every type of situation that arises. Which is probably why I get phone calls at 6:30 am from certain friends asking me about things that I’d rather hear with a few drinks in me…. Or like that one time I got the most awkward second date gift… Lets not get into that story right now, since my poor dad reads my blog!

Anyways, as the title of Chapter 5 of my how-to guide clearly states, I did bake a banana chocolate cake instead of write my paper… It was more of a motivator for me to finish my paper… Finish the paper = I get to eat the cake.

This is not an original recipe. I was surfing the web and the Facebook in class the other day and I fell onto one of my old psychology professor’s profile (she’s seriously the coolest prof ever, and someone that I look up to). Her husband (who also happened to be my brother’s professor) has an egg allergy just like mine, but to make things even worse, he’s also allergic to chicken. Someone had posted a link to a recipe for a banana chocolate cake that HAD NO EGGS OR NUTS OR LACTOSE. So obviously, I had to go check it out. I kind of regretted it since I pretty much started drooling then and there.

Enough of me blabbing. I seriously can’t help myself. I hope that you guys find it somewhat entertaining. And actually, if you make it to this part of the blog, please like the post/blog or leave a comment! I’m dying to get your feedback.

So here we go for the recipe! As usual, I modified it since it wasn’t completely Zoe-friendly (original recipe can be found here)

You will need

  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup yogurt (IT CALLS FOR APPLE SAUCE BUT I HATE APPLE SAUCE)… as I have mentioned in many posts, as well as my feature on the PumpUp tumblr, there are many substitutes to eggs…I prefer yogurt, but you can always go check up on what I’ve posted for other options
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1 tsp. white vinegar (or as my step-dad calls it, cleaning vinegar)
  • 1 1/4 cup of GLUTEN FREE FLOUR (I used my all time favorite Irresistible brand)
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder… make sure its an unsweetened kind, I like using Frys
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2/3 cup chocolate chips

How to

  • Preheat your oven at 350 degrees
  • Grab a friend that has anger issues (in my case, my Paesh) and get them to smash them bananas in a mixing bowl… it helps release the anger
  • Mix in your brown sugar, yogurt/apple sauce, water, white vinegar
  • Slowly combine in your flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt
  • Fold in your chocolate chips

Pro tip : if you don’t have a cake tin, just use your muffin molds… I used a small cake pan and my mini muffin tins.

Pop in the oven for 30 to 35 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean. Since it’s banana based, it might be slightly a little mushy inside.

banana chocolate muffins

Eh voilà! Delicious treat, that can actually be vegan if you sub out the yogurt for apple sauce, and you make sure your chocolate chips don’t contain lactose!

I also promise to work on my photos. Honestly, I own a decent camera but I’m missing my lenses (they are back home) so I can’t really take nice pictures. But, quality pictures will come soon.

Also working on channeling my inner Hannah Hart the other night while making one of my Jamie Oliver curries (Rogan Josh to be precise)… I was cooking in my onesie but it was getting way too hot! It seems that the new chef’s attire is the snapback… Chef Desborough?

IMG_5837

 

Alright guys, show me some love and comment below! I want your input!

ps: check out my psychology prof’s blog! Caroline has traveled the world with her husband a few times now, and she has kept us posted through her blog. Definite must read if you’re ever thinking of traveling and wanted some real input!

3 thoughts on “Chapter 5 : Bake a Banana Chocolate Cake Instead of Writing a Paper that’s Due Tomorrow

    • The flour i used was a mix of gluten free all purpose flour, so i would go with the regular stuff! Ive never baked with coconut so i’m not too sure on the results

Leave a Reply

