15 Minute Challenge – feat. Tofu Katsu Curry

Super hungry? Check. Basic cooking staples (onion, garlic, ginger, curry powder, soya sauce, honey)? Check. Race agaisnt the clock? CHALLENGE ACCEPTED!

I’ve re-edited the intro to this post since I thought it was pretty boring before.

I challenge y’all to make this dish, under 15 minutes, and post your comments/photos/results in the comment section. Deal?


 

I’m honestly stumped when it comes to titles and intros. Seriously. It’s usually the last thing I do when I write my posts…Ok, it’s actually the first thing I do, but I already know what I’ll be talking about so the point is now moot.

Anyways. Yeah. I have no clue. My hair is now My Little Pony meets Treasure Troll purple, and feels as fluffy as cotton candy. Sorry Mom, if for once you are actually reading this… I love my hair. I don’t know why it took me this long to dye it purple, but gosh, this is going to stay for a while… Or until I actually have to get a real job that wont accept purple hair…IMG_6221 copy

This week’s recipe is in fact another Sorted Foods recipe. It’s rather an old one that they re-released for their #tbt (for those that aren’t to savvy with the internet lingo, tbt = Throw Back Thursday series. We don’t have, to my knowledge, any Wagamama’s here in Canada… Just checked, there are 4 in the USA, 4 in the Middle East, and over 120 in Europe…but none here!… Yes back to Wagamama. It’s contemporary Japanese food with a twist, kind of fast foody place in the UK. I personally can’t eat there, but I have only heard amazing things from it.

010c8c996fa5a55ee9340f44fc92ece9eeb730c1de

Back to Sorted. They created a version of this Japanese curry (katsu is the derivative of tonkatsu which is a breaded and deep fried porc cutlet)… Their recipe calls for breaded chicken breasts, but I chose to go with my tofu cubes from my Asian Tacos recipe (go check it out for the spice measurements). It’s actually pretty delicious. Again, I am not a big Asian foods fan, but this was pretty amazing.

Oh, can I also point out that this took me literally 15 minutes to whip up?! No joke! And I’m 100% sure that you all have what it takes to make this in your fridge already!

You will need

  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 chunk of ginger, chopped
  • chili flakes … literally a pinch… I used probably 4 pinches and it was hot
  • 1 tbsp. curry powder
  • 1 tbsp. flour (I used gluten free flour, obviously, but regular flour is fine)
  • 1 cup vegetable broth (chicken is fine too)
  • 1 tbsp. honey ***
  • 1 splash soy sauce … about 1 oz/shot glass ***
  • 1 glug of canola oil

For the tofu, you can either do my spicy Sriracha tofu, or the Asian taco tofu… both recipes have been previously posted! Personally, I’d go with the Asian style tofu, since the Sriracha one might clash a little with the curry sauce used in this recipe.

For those that want to use real meat (porc or chicken, go check out the link to the Sorted page [see above])!

*** I had leftovers the following day and I wanted to make sure to tell you guys this. If your curry powder is bitter… Yes I know that sounds odd, but if you smell it and find it’s a little bitter, add a bit more honey and soya sauce. I realized this while eating left overs… It could have used a little more sweetness to it! Not too much, but a little more

Super simple steps!

Start by chopping and prepping everything. Did you know that if you used a spoon to scrape off the skin on a piece of ginger it actually goes faster then cutting the skin off?! True story!

Start off by frying your onion, garlic and chili flakes in the canola oil. After a few minutes, spoon in your flour and curry powder and stir for 1 minute.

DSC_0001

Add your liquids (broth and soy sauce), then stir in the honey. Let simmer for 10 minutes. Make sure you stir it often since the sugar in the honey and soy sauce will burn to the bottom of your pan.

Once the time is up, remove from the heat and blend using an immersion blender to make the sauce nice and uniform.

While the curry sauce is simmering, it’s the perfect time to fry up your tofu and prep your garnishes! If you’re using rice noodles (vermicelli or the linguine type) follow the instructions on the packages… but it shouldn’t take more than 3 minutes to cook.
DSC_0478 copy

You can keep it plain and simple, as in just the tofu, or go a little wild with crunchy veggies, sliced/julienned. I went with radishes and red peppers since that’s all the crunchy stuff I had in my fridge when I made it, but carrots, broccoli, celery, pois mange-tout, cabbage, cauliflower, etc. You can always blanch your vegetables to cook them but keep them crunchy, but go ahead with washed raw veg!

You can serve it on basmati rice, or any type of rice noodle… I went for the “linguine” rice noodle since it’s a little thicker than your vermicelli… think of your Pad Thai noodles… DSC_0469 copy

Garnish with green onions, and you’re done!

Garnished with veg

Let me know what you think and please subscribe/follow to get notifications when the next recipe is published!

Leave a Reply

