Breakfast for One – Feat. Overnight Oats

Can I just start of by saying that I’m quite sorry that I didn’t jump on the bandwagon when these first became popular? They are a total revolution and such a time saver!

Overnight oats are a wonderful thing. They take less than 3 minutes to prepare and when you wake up the next day, you can just grab the jar and head out the door (just don’t forget your spoon!). final product

I think the main reason why I was so afraid to try it was because of the consistency. To my big surprise, it’s not so bad! It’s actually better than my daily bowl of oatmeal… Yeah, being allergic to pretty much all breakfast foods, my breakfasts are usually pretty bland, unless I really have the time to make pancakes or make a batch of breakfast muffins. So this is definitely a new must for me!

You will need

  • 1/4 to 1/3 cup of old fashion oats (don’t use the Minute Oats, it doesn’t really work)
  • 1/4 cup of plain or vanilla yogurt (I don’t like buying flavoured yogurt because of all the additives so I just add a dash of vanilla extract to my plain yogurt)
  • 1/2 cup of milk
  • 1 tbsp. chia seeds (white or black, or mix of both)
  • 1 tbsp. of honey/agave nectar/maple syrup
  • 1/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries (or any other berries)

all the ingredients

In a mason jar (to be totally hipster), or in a Tupperware, or in any other container with a lid, layer your ingredients in any way you want. I saved the milk for last to be able to show you what the before product looks like.

before

Once you pour your milk in, give it a good stir, put the lid on it, and put it in the fridge to rest. You could technically eat it after 1h, but I highly recommend saving it for breakfast for the following day.

There you go, quick and easy and delicious Overnight Oats.

Oh. As a little treat, I topped mine with Walden Farms calorie-free caramel dip that I found at Popeye Canada (supplement store). If you’re looking for a little treat to satisfy your sweet-tooth without indulging too much, definitely try this out. It’s even gluten free! The best thing about it, for me, is that there’s a slight after-taste that prevents me from eating spoonfuls of it. Just a little goes a long way! It’s great with apples and other fruit as well!

Send me your pictures if you try this recipe!

Love,

Z

One thought on “Breakfast for One – Feat. Overnight Oats

Leave a Reply

