My Hangover Kitchen – feat. Sag Aloo

This week was an interesting week in my kitchen. I tried a bunch of new and old recipes… and also failed big time. Yes, in this segment, you will learn on how not to fail in the kitchen (DON’T DROP A TRAY OF UNCOOKED MUFFIN BATTER ON THE FLOOR) and also how to make delicious Sag Aloo for a nice lunch/appetizer/dinner!

First off. Don’t bake hung over. Ever. If you’re like me, and a real spazz in real life, you will most likely end up doing something that you will regret… For example, drop an entire tray of uncooked chocolate banana muffin batter upside-down on the floor while transferring it to the oven. Yes that’s right, I wasted precious chocolate chips. I think I was more upset about wasting chocolate chips than the mess it made in my kitchen. So kids. Don’t cook drunk unless you want to wind up with less fingers than you already have, and don’t bake hung over, unless you want to spend the day scrubbing out muffin mix out of the cracks of the flooring.

Title is in honor of Hannah Hart and her “My Drunk Kitchen‘ Youtube channel. She is seriously an idol of mine… And I’m hoping that I’ll find her book under the Christmas tree… Hint Hint Dad (if you’re reading).

Moving on.

This week’s recipe is a Jamie Oliver recipe from his Save With Jamie book that came out last year. I attempted to make this recipe once before, but I totally missed it (I didn’t have all the right ingredients and didn’t follow it properly). It was delicious, but definitely not what it looked like in the pictures.

So, I attempted to make it again this week. While writing this, I realized that I forgot one of the main ingredients to make this Sag Aloo… Seeing as Sag is spinach and Aloo is potatoes… I forgot to put spinach in it. HOWEVER, the first time I tried it, I used spinach… I think my brain was still suffering from this weekend’s debauchery.

Also, I have yet to find the right potatoes for this recipe, since it doesn’t quite look like what Jamie has in his book, but I don’t care, it’s delicious!

This recipe takes time to make, so make sure you’re not in a rush to make it! It’s three step recipe, if you want to make everything from scratch. If not, consider buying a Rogan Josh curry paste next time you’re at the groceries.

For the Rogan Josh paste, you will need

  • 2 bell peppers, sliced in half, roasted and peeled
  • 2 tbsp. tomato paste
  • 2 inch piece of ginger, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 tbsp. paprika
  • 1 tsp. smoked paprika (if you don’t have any, just use regular paprika)
  • 2 tsp. garam masala
  • 1 tsp. turmeric
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. canola oil
  • 1 jalapeno/chili
  • small bunch of fresh coriander, chopped
  • 2 tsp. cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp. coriander seeds
  • 1 tsp. black pepper corn

Like the other curry recipes I have posted on the blog from Jamie’s cookbooks, toast the cumin seeds, coriander seeds and black pepper corns first. Then blend all the ingredients together until you get a nice consistent paste.

DSC_0095 copy

For this particular recipe, you’ll only need 2 tbsp. of the paste, so freeze the rest of it for the next time you feel like having curry!

For the main Sag Aloo recipe, you will need

  • 1 onion
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 2 tbsp. Rogan Josh paste
  • small bunch of fresh cilantro
  • 2 1/2 lbs. of potatoes (about 5 fist size potatoes in my case), peeled and cut in 1 inch pieces
  • fresh or frozen spinach, about 4 hand fulls

Blend your onion, tomatoes, Rogan Josh paste and cilantro in a blender until you get a smooth paste. Put it in a pot and start warming it up on the stove for about 5 minutes.

While that is warming, chop your potatoes. Add them to the pot and add water to the mix so that there is water half way to the top (you don’t want to cover the potatoes with water). Cook for 12-15 minutes or until your potatoes are tender.

While the potatoes are cooking, make your temper.

The third step of this dish is to make a temper, which is used as a garnish to the dish.

You will need

  • 2 tsp. cumin seeds
  • 4 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 chili/jalapeno pepper, finely chopped
  • canola oil, a decent glug or two

Place everything in a pan and fry until the garlic turns golden. Once that’s done, put it in a little dish to use later.

DSC_0101 copy

So by now, your potatoes should be cooked. Transfer them to the pan you used to make the temper, along with the curry sauce. At this point, you can add the spinach to your pan. You’re going to want to put the heat up to medium-high and reduce the liquid until there is barely nothing left in the pan. Make sure to stir often so nothing sticks and burns to the bottom of the pan.

In Jamie’s book, he says the potatoes will be nice and crispy, but mine were still starchy and the sauce didnt crisp up. It did reduce completely, but no crispiness here. Definitely not like what is pictured in the cookbook.

DSC_0098 copy

The final step is to assemble everything together in lettuce wraps. I made a quick tzaziki (1 baby cucumber shredded with 1 cup of yogurt and 4 garlic cloves pressed) instead of serving it with plain yogurt. Sprinkle a bit of the the temper onto the potatoes in your wrap and there you go! This is definitely a great lunch or side dish!

DSC_0104 copy

3 thoughts on “My Hangover Kitchen – feat. Sag Aloo

  1. What a glorious read! I’m also a big fan of Hannah Hart, and completely approve of your hungover kitchen antics! Although, I felt your pain at the thought of all that batter over the floor & a spinach-less Sag Aloo! Your dish looks fantastic! I’ve never seen such a classic served in little lettuce boats – this definitely serves as inspiration & I’ll have to try it out soon. 🙂

    • Thanks girl! I am so crushing on Hannah Hart, it’s not even funny hahaha. The dish is super tasty, but definitely not ideal as a meal on it’s own. We created little wraps with the lettuce and added tomatoes and my friend added cucumber. It’s a nice alternative! Let me know how it goes if you try it out!

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Guide for All Levels | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

