Date Night Dinner – feat. Pizza and Caprese

We’ve all been there… you want to impress/woo/surprise that special someone in your life tonight, but you don’t necessarily want to spend hours upon hours slaving in the kitchen to prepare dinner. Trying to figure out what to make is always a headache… What to do?!

Well, I’ve got the answer for you my friend. This meal screams romantic and sweet, definitely not fussy. I think the only fussy part will be uncorking that bottle of wine!

I wanted to impress someone special the other night, and I think it may have worked… Or it might have been the popcorn/chocolate cookies that I had baked earlier… I apparently still smelled like popcorn after dinner too!

To make it a little more interesting, I went for a fig, arugula, prosciutto and goat cheese pizza! Delicate, tasty, and the sweet and salty go oh so well together.

DISCLAIMER : yes there is meat on this pizza. My date is not as much as a pain in the ass as I am. Therefore I didn’t feel like torturing her by feeding her what some of my friends call “fun-less food”. One half of the pizza was meatless. So there. Compromise people!

I was kind of stumped when it came to making a side dish, since there was arugula already on the salad, so I went with a nice Caprese salad with a twist!

I think I scored top points but, I’ll have to double check!

For the Caprese Salad, you will need

  • 6 Roma tomatoes (Heirloom tomatoes would look pretty too), sliced in rounds
  • Handful of fresh basil leaves, torn
  • Fresh mozzarella, torn into bite size pieces
  • Coarse sea salt if you have some, if not, a pinch of table salt

I found a similar salad on Jamie Oliver’s website, where he suggests to mush up fresh raspberries with a fork and drizzle raspberry balsamic vinegar over them and use that as a dressing… I did it… and it’s AMAZING.

DSC_0123 copy

For the pizza, you will need

  • Homemade or bought pizza crust/dough***
  • Tomato paste or pesto
  • Arugula (rocket)
  • Goat cheese (plain or herbed), crumbled
  • Dried figs, chopped in fine slices
  • Prosciutto

*** I usually buy Bob’s Red Mill gluten-free pizza crust flour mix, which is excellent to make pizza dough. It usually makes enough dough for two pizzas, so I usually end up freezing a ball of dough for the days I don’t feel like making much***

Prep your dough/crust according to instructions.

You can go the traditional way and use a tiny amount of tomato paste for your topping, but using pesto is a little fancier and add’s a nice touch.

Top your pizza with the dried figs, arugula, prosciutto strips and then crumble your goat cheese over. Pop it into the oven for the required amount of time.DSC_0126 copy

There you have it! Romantic and easy date night dinner for two!

Leave a Reply

