I Didn’t Forget You! I Swear!

I can officially say that I cannot remember the meaning of the word “sleep”. I have made it out alive….barely. Since last Wednesday, I have rushed so much to finish 4 papers, 2 exams and host a dinner party for 12 people in an apartment that barely fits 2 people. All I can say is thank you to my (YES NOW ITS OFFICIAL) girlfriend for helping me prepare for all of it while still slightly hungover ❤

IMG_4318 copy

If you’re looking to host a dinner party for friends or family, and looking for something new, I definitely suggest making a curry (also check out my recipe for Vindaloo, or my recipe for Vegetable Jalfrezi)

This time around, I made Jamie Oliver’s Rogan Josh, a nice mild curry, that I think I have talked about multiple times on the blog, but haven’t gotten around to posting it since I keep forgetting to take pictures of it. I made a double batch, just to be sure I had enough …I ended up filling 5 Tupperware for friends to take home. It was a great success. It’s definitely a mild curry, so you might want to have some hot sauce (Sriracha is my go-to) on hand for those that want a little more heat.

I wasn’t planing on posting the recipe this week, since I forgot to take pictures, but I may as well do it now! I will post pictures of the final result in the coming week since I’m planing on making this dish for a dinner party coming up!

As with all Jamie Oliver curry recipes, you can always buy pre-made curry paste, but I love making my own curry paste! It’s fun being able to tell everyone that you made everything from scratch (YES YOU CAN BRAG, I GIVE YOU THE OK!).

This is a two step recipe; you’ll first start by making your curry paste, and then the main dish. Making the paste takes about 5 minutes tops, the main dish as well, but it will take a good 45 minutes to an hour of simmering. Make sure you give yourself enough time so you’re not rushing.

For the Rogan Josh paste, you will need:

  • 2 gloves of garlic
  • Thumb size piece of fresh ginger
  • 2 roasted red peppers ( you can roast your own, or buy jarred roasted peppers, just make sure to sponge out excess oil)
  • 2 tbsp paprika
  • 2 tsp of garam masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • ½ tsp sea salt
  • 2 tbsp canola oil
  • 2 tbsp tomato paste
  • 1 fresh jalapeno ( a squirt of Sriracha will do if you don’t have any jalapenos/chilies on hand)
  • Small bunch fresh cilantro
  • 2 tsp cumin seeds
  • 2 tsp coriander seeds
  • 1 tsp black peppercorns

Toast your cumin seeds, coriander seeds and black peppercorns until they start to smell really good…just dont burn them.

 

In a blender, combine all your ingredients and blend away, until you get a nice chunky paste. Set aside until needed.

DSC_0154 copy

For the main part, you will need:

  • 1 ¾ lbs chicken ( about 6-8 chicken thighs)… You can always use tofu if you want to make this a vegetarian dish
  • 2 medium onions ( or 1 ½), finely chopped
  • 1 fresh jalapeno, finely sliced (Sriracha will do as well)
  • Thumb size piece of ginger, finely chopped
  • Small bunch of fresh cilantro, chop stalks, (save leaves for garnishes)
  • Vegetable oil
  • Pat of butter
  • 4 bay leaves
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 tbsp of balsamic vinegar
  • 15 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 3 ½ cups of chicken broth
  • 2 handfuls of red lentils

Put a large pot on medium heat and add a couple lugs of oil and butter, and gently fry/sweat your onions, chile, ginger, cilantro stalks, and bay leaves for 10 minutes (don’t let it burn!).DSC_0168 copy

Once the 10 minutes is up, add in your chicken and cook until there is no visible pink. Pour in your balsamic vinegar and cook for another 2 minutes. Just a pro tip, keep your face away from the pot when you pour in the balsamic vinegar… It will burn your nostrils… just watching out for ya!

DSC_0167 copy

Add in your can of diced tomatoes, curry paste, and stock, and give it a good stir. Mix in your lentils and put the lid on. Bring it to a boil, then turn the heat down and simmer for about 50 minutes to an hour. For the last 10-15 minutes, you can take the lid off.DSC_0166 copy

Serve with basmati rice (white or brown) or naan bread. You can always have a little bowl of plain yogurt for people to dollop in their dish if it’s too spicy.

DSC_0171 copy

Just as a note, you can replace the chicken with tofu, it’s quite excellent. If you are going with chicken, use boneless and skinless thighs (you can cut out any extra fat before using it). I’ve mentioned this before, but darker meat doesn’t get dry and adds much more flavor.

Also, if you need to double the recipe, make sure you either have two large pots, or one rather extremely large dish in which you can store the leftovers. I made two separate batches since I wasn’t sure I’d have enough with just one batch.

I am leaving you with a funny food related video since I have no good pictures for you this week!

2 thoughts on “I Didn’t Forget You! I Swear!

  1. Pingback: Drop everything: try this vegan raspberry chocolate mousse

  2. Pingback: Cookbook Guide for All Levels | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

