Quick Holiday Treat – feat. Caramel Sauce

I can’t believe its already Christmas Eve. I actually finished my last group project today, which means I am officially on holidays! It also means that I have zero time for Christmas shopping, therefore, I am making DYI gifts for my friends and family!

I made three batches of my White Chocolate and Popcorn cookies tonight (one for my best friend, another for my step-dad, and one for my mom’s office Christmas party tomorrow). I also made some caramel sauce for the other people on my list… I have more DYI gift ideas and recipe coming in the next two days, so keep an eye out!

Today’s recipe is this quick and easy caramel sauce. Definitely girlfriend approved 😉

It’s fairly simple, and there are multiple variations of it out on the web. This recipe is your basic recipe, to which you can add a bunch of things, such as bourbon, or coarse sea salt/fleur de sel.

I even made a tiny batch of caramel popcorn with the left over popcorn from the cookies and the leftover sauce!

DSC_0184 copy

You will need

  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 6 tbsp. butter, cut into chunks
  • 1/2 cup of whipping cream(35%)
  • pinch of salt

Put your sugar in a pot on medium heat and stir constantly until the sugar starts to melt and dissolve. You want to make sure that the heat isn’t too high, and not stop stirring since you don’t want it t burn.

Once it is smooth and dark amber, you’re going to want to add your butter gently. It will start to bubble furiously, but that is normal. Just keep stirring until it is completely melted in.

Pour your cream gently into the sugar and butter mix, as it will bubble and spatter as well. Whisk it in. Let it boil for 1 minute, then take it off the heat. You can then add your pinch of salt and let it cool down.

DSC_0182 copy

Once it’s cool enough, transfer it to small mason jars, and decorate them with bows and name tags to make cute little gifts!

DSC_0193 copy

Leave a Reply

