New Year, New You – feat. Resolutions & One Pot Pasta

Hi guys,

I’m really sorry to have been so quiet in the past two weeks… I caught the flu from my dear little brother (started on January 1st), and today is actually the first day that I’m not coughing up a lung! I spent a good week in bed, which explains why I didn’t post last week, and well, I actually haven’t had enough energy to cook anything new and exciting since I’ve been back in Quebec.

However, I do have a recipe for you, and I thought I’d share with you my resolutions for this year. It would be pretty awesome if you could leave me one of your resolutions down in the comment section! We could keep each other accountable that way!

Every year, I like to set myself big goals, and to break them down into smaller feasible ones, so I can actually accomplish all of them. By breaking them down, it’s a lot easier to keep track and feel like you’ve actually accomplished something, rather than feel defeated at the end of the year because you didn’t achieve what you said you would.

This year, I am going to be training for a duathlon that will take place on August 1st in Ottawa (check out Somersault Events for details). I already have a 12 week training program that I will be doing once indoors (until the snow melts), and then again outdoors (once it’s nice enough to not freeze to death). It’s not my first time doing this, so I already know what works well for me in regards to keeping up with my goals. You will most likely hear about my training sometime in the next few weeks.

Also, I am finishing up my Masters (last two courses, and writing my essay over the summer) while also working as an ESL prof (I just received my first contracts today!). Both of these will require a lot of my time, therefore, I want to dedicate at least 2 hours a week for myself and my cooking and blogging. I find that blogging and cooking are therapeutic activities, so I want to make sure I take the time each week to do a bit of both!

For those brave enough, I want to hear what you have in mind for 2015!

This week’s recipe is taken from Oh My Veggies One-Pot Pasta Primavera recipe. In essence, it looks amazing, and it also tastes amazing, but it’s a lot fussier than I expected.

I like my recipes to be relatively simple, but I found this one a little tricky, but not hard. It’s almost a cross between a risotto and a summer pasta dish, but it requires constant attention.

You will need

  • 1 bunch of asparagus, tails trimmed off and cut into 3 inch pieces
  • 1 head of broccoli, florets cut into bite size pieces
  • 1 cup of frozen peas
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1 cup of mushrooms, finely cut
  • 4 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 8 to 10 oz of gluten free pasta (Linguine preferably, if not spaghetti will be just fine)
  • 4 cups of broth
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 cup cream or milk
  • 2 tbsp. grated Parmesan cheese

DSC_0227

In the largest pot you own, add in the broth, pasta, onion, broccoli, asparagus, mushrooms, garlic, and drizzle your olive oil on top. Put it on medium-high heat and bring to a boil.

Once everything starts boiling, you want to start tossing everything constantly for about 7 to 10 minutes, until your pasta becomes al dente. Once that 10 minutes is up, add your cream, peas and Parmesan and continue cooking for another few minutes until your pasta is tender, as well as your veggies.

Much like a risotto, you’re going to want to constantly stir to make sure nothing sticks and burns, and that everything gets evenly coated and cooked. You’ll notice quite quickly if the pot you chose is too small, because it gets really hard to toss things around!

Personally, I found this dish to be a little fussy, more than what I am used to, but it still turned out great. You could always just cook your pasta separately and then add it to your sauce at the end. Slightly different, but same great result!

DSC_0232Hopefully you’ve all had an OK back to school/back to work week, and are keeping up with those resolutions of yours!

One thought on “New Year, New You – feat. Resolutions & One Pot Pasta

Leave a Reply

