What Happens When a Carrot, an Apple, and a Banana Get Together…

Round two of being ill this year. Seriously, second time in less than three weeks. It really stinks, but thankfully I got the head cold and my girlfriend got the flu! I was nice and took good care of her, just as she did for me. I even made her my grandmother’s chicken noodle soup! It helped to speed things along.

Also, I’ve decided, because of a lack of time, to blog on the weekends, since week days are very hectic. This week, I made a batch of minestrone and a batch of vegan chili (both will be featured later on this month), and to top it off, healthy carrot muffins so I could use up the leftover carrots.

I’ve always loved carrots, but I’ve developed an intolerance for raw carrots… and I hate cooked carrots, so I rarely have them in my fridge. This week however, I had a ton left and I decided to test out a recipe found on the Minimalist Baker’s blog. Her version contains walnuts and almond milk and flour, so I decided to change things up a little to meet my needs. And trust me, you won’t be disappointing! It’s definitely a winner.

These muffins are excellent as a snack, or also part of your daily breakfast (really good for on the go!).

You will need

  • 1.5 flax eggs ( 2.5. tbsp flax seeds and 5 tbsp. water)
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 mashed banana
  • 1/4 cup maple syrup or honey
  • 1/2 cup shredded apple (I grated mine and pressed out the excess juice so it wouldn’t make the batter too soggy)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1.5 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 2/3 cup GF rolled oats
  • 1 1/2 cups + 2 tbsp. GF flour (I used brown rice flour)DSC_0289 copy

Preheat your oven at 375 and line or grease your muffin pan.

To start, let your flax seeds soak in the water until they become a gelatinous mass.

Grate your carrot and apple (make sure you press it properly to remove the excess juice), and mash your banana.

In a large bowl, mix in your mashed banana, maple syrup, olive oil and flax egg. Add in your apple, brown sugar, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon. Stir in your milk and carrots.

Once all the liquids are combined, slowly add your oats and flour and stir until everything is properly combined. You can always add a handful of raisins or dried cranberries to the mix at this step.DSC_0296 copy

Bake for a good 35 minutes, until the tops aren’t spongey. Remove them from the oven and let them cool for a while.

The final step is to put them in a container, then in your freezer, so you wont be tempted to eat the entire batch all at once (good trick I use since my girlfriend and I could probably demolish the entire batch in one afternoon while watching a marathon of Suits.)

DSC_0298 copy

Leave a Reply

