Dance Off The Winter Blues – feat. Summer Time Fajitas

Are you looking for a dish that will make you feel like having a dance party in your kitchen because it’s so damn good? Then stop browsing other websites because you’ve found THE ONE.

My girlfriend (who is my official taste tester) and I made these fajitas last week, and since I was craving chicken, something that I haven’t had in over a month, I decided to go ahead and make them non vegetarian/vegan.

To all of you who are vegan/vegetarian and read my blog, it is entirely possible to make these with tofu cubes (I would marinate mine in BBQ sauce and fry or bake them off). As I have stated before, I am a part time vegetarian, so I allow myself to have fish and chicken once in a while. You can judge me for doing this, but you may or may not know that I have severe allergies to eggs and nuts, and cannot digest red meat, therefore my intake in protein is slightly insufficient since I don’t have much variety when it comes to protein sources other than legumes and vegetables (they are not complete proteins, unlike animal proteins).

Anyways, I digress. These fajitas are the bomb! They are jam packed with flavor and bring back the memory of a time where there was no snow, but only sunshine and beaches.

You will need, for the fajita stuffing

  • 2 chicken breasts, boned and skinned, cut into strips
  • 1 or 2 red bell peppers, cut into strips
  • 1 red or white onion, cut into strips
  • 1 tbsp. paprika
  • 1 good pinch of cumin powder
  • juice of half a lime
  • glug of olive oil

Stir everything together and let it marinate while you make you salsa.

DSC_0329 copy

You will need, for the salsa

  • two tomatoes (plum, Roma, etc.)
  • small handful of fresh coriander    (cilantro)
  • juice of 1 lime
  • 1 jalapeno pepper (or a squirt of sriracha)
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Mix everything together and there you have it.

DSC_0376 copy

Once the salsa is prepped, you can start frying up your chicken in a hot griddle pan, or a regular pan. Make sure you flip it and toss the peppers and onions so they don’t burn and stick together. This part should take you about 15 to 20 minutes, depending on the thickness of your chicken breast. You want to make sure it is cooked through!

DSC_038 copy3

To serve these amazing fajitas, you can serve them in traditional flour tortillas, or make a kind of fajita salad with it, which is what I did since I was out of gluten free tortillas. We also made a quick yogurt sauce (1/2 cup plain yogurt with two crushed garlic cloves). Stuff your fajita with whatever you want! We went with green salad, green onions, cheese, garlic yogurt dip, salsa. Finish it off with a squirt of lime and you will be oh so happy!

DSC_0380 copy

Leave a Reply

