Breakfast À Go Go – Feat. Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

Hey guys, remember me?

Yeah, I’m really sorry about the lack of posting, I’ve just been so busy! I won’t lie, I could have posted a few times since, but I’ve been enjoying the time off, and focusing on myself for the first time in a long time.

Want to know why? This girl just finished all her theoretical courses for her Masters’ program! Yep! I only have my essay to write over the summer, which I will be beginning in a week or so. Also, I turned 24 this past week, and my lovely girlfriend is turning 24 this coming week, so it’s been party central here! I do admit, I’m looking forward to next weekend, to get back on track to healthier eating!

This week’s post is actually a product review of some sorts, since I promised you guys I’d be testing products that I got at the food expo back in end of March. I’ve chosen to start with some yummy pancakes, since that was my birthday breakfast this week (and today)!

If you go back a few posts to the Expo Manger Santé entry, I mentioned that I received a free package of Gogo Quinoa’s whole grains pancake mix. I was really looking forward to trying this mix because it’s a tad simpler than measuring out all your ingredients, especially when you’re not a morning person. I know you can make your own mix (which is something I’ll be attempting in the future), but until then, I am really satisfied with this mix!

DSC_0636 copy

Now, I know that I’ve stated many times that using quinoa flour for baking isn’t the greatest because of its particular flavor, I am quite surprised to say that this mix is very nice! The ingredient list is as follows: brown rice flour, tapioca flour, kaniwa flour, baking powder, salt, xanthan gum and baking soda.

The main ingredient isn’t quinoa flour which is partly the reason why it’s not as bitter (to my taste). If you were wondering, kaniwa is a cousin grain of quinoa, but slightly smaller in size, which is why it is referred to as baby quinoa, but it’s also sweeter. The mix of kaniwa flour and rice flour makes for a whole grain taste, and I find it’s somewhat similar to Cheerios. Mind you, I’ve never eaten Cheerios, just smelled them, so maybe I’m a little off on the taste department.

Speaking of taste and smell, whole grain/quinoa flour is a kind of acquired taste, and I can understand not wanting your traditional delicate pancakes tasting like some more wholesome things. Let’s be honest, pancakes are delicious when they have a slight vanilla flavor and are light and fluffy.

Even before making these, I told my girlfriend that I really wanted to add pumpkin spices to the mix, because the pumpkin spice muffins I make are with quinoa flour and they are to die for… So without further ado, here is my Pumpking Spice Pancakes with GoGo Quinoa Pancake Mix.

For the Pumpkin Spice mix

  • 3 tbsp. ground cinnamon
  • 2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground allspice
  • 1 1/2 tsp. ground cloves

Store this spice mix in an empty spice jar, mason jar, Ziploc baggies, and use whenever you’re feeling nostalgic and in need of a pick-me up!

For the Pancake mix

  • 1 cup of GoGo Quinoa’s Pancake Mix whole grains
  • 1 cup vanilla soy milk (any other milk will do)
  • 1 chia “egg” (1 tbsp. chia seeds + 3 tbsp. water, mixed until gelatinous)
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp. to 1 tbsp. of pumpkin spice (go for taste)

Mix all your ingredients in a bowl and let rest while your pan is heating up.

As with any other pancake, you’ll need to grease the pan a little, so I like to use coconut oil, to keep this recipe vegan. You can always use butter or canola oil.

Make pancakes like you normally would.

DSC_0647 copy

The first time I made these, they were very puffy and small, which is fine, but I like mine a little more like a crepe, so I added a bit more milk to make the mix runnier. The consistency will change a little depending on the kind of milk you’re using, but follow your instincts!

Not only does it smell amazing, but it tastes so so so so so good! Think of your PSL you order at Starbucks, or the candles you pull out in the fall. It really is delicious.

Depending on the egg substitute, for which you can use a flax egg, yogurt, etc., it will have an impact on the consistency and texture. I highly suggest the chia egg or the flax egg for this recipe (you’ll want to use ground flax).

All in all, the convenience of only having to scoop out 1 cup of pancake mix, pour 1 cup of milk and add one chia egg and stir makes this product a gold start in my eyes.

DSC_0648 copy

I don’t have pancakes that often, and if I do, it’s usually on Saturday mornings, I find it nice to treat myself to a bag of the mix. For one bag of 500 g at 6.49$, you can get about 5 breakfasts out of it  . One batch usually makes between 8 and 12 small/medium crepes (when the mix is fairly runny), and I only eat about 3 or 4 pancakes in one serving. So for two people, that makes quite a lot, and usually a few left over to freeze (which is nice for on the go breakfasts during the week).

Nutrition values (8 pancakes)

Calories 104
Fat 2 g (2%)

o    0 g saturated fat (1%)

o    0 g monounsaturated fat

o    1 g polyunsaturated fat

o    0 g trans fat

Cholesterol 0 mg
Sodium 29 mg (1%)
Potassium 34 mg (1%)
Total Carbohydrates ·         20 g (7%)

o    2 g fiber (7%)

o    1 g sugar

Protein 3 g (5%)
One thought on “Breakfast À Go Go – Feat. Pumpkin Spice Pancakes

Leave a Reply

