So Long Sad Leftovers – feat. Sweet and Tangy Sauce

I need to start planning things a little more carefully… I know that tomorrow is Mothers Day and that most of all the other bloggers have already published recipes to please your dear mama, but it kind of slipped my mind this year. I blame it on the fact that I don’t live at home anymore. However, I do make the point of calling her, and this year sent her a card on time for Mothers Day… Which that too I tend to not plan ahead of time. But, I do want to take a few seconds to say hello to my mom, who doesn’t actually read my blog, but if by chance she does, I haven’t forgotten you!

Me and Maman, circa 1995 ( I think)

Me and Maman, circa 1995 ( I think)

However, I do think that you’ll find many of the recipes on my blog Mom worthy! For example, you could whip her up some delicious pancakes (Pumpkin spiced pancakes) with a batch of caramelized apples, and treat her to a breakfast in bed. You could also make a lovely Caprese Salad, or Spring Rolls, for lunch. Or, you can go all out and make her a tasty Roasted Red Pepper Risotto for dinner. So many options!

But for those who wont be near your mom, or a mom, tomorrow, here is a recipe that will brighten up your day.


It’s nearing the end of the week, and there isn’t too much left in your fridge, and you’re not willing to go out to a restaurant for dinner. What to do? Well, you could always try making a rice/quinoa bowl! This is something that I tend to do on Sunday night’s when I know that Monday morning means going grocery shopping to stock up my fridge. I usually have some scraps of veggies and leftovers in my fridge that are starting to go wrinkly, so instead of letting them go mouldy and loose maybe 5$ of veggies, I like making rice/quinoa/something bowls with my leftovers.

DSC_0713 copy - Copy

See, the trick is to have a kick-ass sauce or dressing to hide the fact that your veggies are limp and pitiful. You can always go the traditional route, with some soya sauce and sriracha, but why not take it up a notch?This sauce recipe will make a big enough batch to last you for the rest of the week, and goes with pretty much everything! Sweet and tangy, slightly Asian inspired with the sesame oil; I’m hoping that it will become a new staple to your weekly meals, as it has become in mine.

For the sauce, you will need

  • 2 tsp. of Dijon mustard
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 2 tbsp. maple syrup (NOT THE FAKE KIND)
  • 2 tbsp. sesame oil (dark/roasted sesame)
  • 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar
  • 2 tbsp. red wine vinegar (if you don’t have any on hand, just add 1 tbsp. of balsamic vinegar)
  • 1/4 tbsp. chili flakes (optional)
  • 6 tbsp. vegetable oil

In a jar, whisk up all of the ingredients, except the vegetable oil. Once everything is combined, whisk in the vegetable oil slowly. And there you have it. Less than 5 minutes to heaven.

DSC_0710 copy - Copy

It makes a big enough batch to last a few days if your on your own… Or if you like your things saucy.

DSC_0711 copy - Copy

Leave a Reply

