Packing and Stuff To Do – feat. Stuffed Peppers

Let me ask you something. What is worse than half packed boxes, piles of clothes to put away and a bunch of dishes to do? I really wish I could be sitting by a beach with a glass of wine in hand, watching the sun set, instead of cleaning and packing.

Anyways, I found a better way to procrastinate… By writing this blog! While I was trying to find something to make with all the leftover scraps in my fridge tonight, I remembered making this up a few weeks ago with the Girlfriend, so I thought I would share.

I can’t remember what made me want to make this exact recipe last time, but I vaguely recall having a conversation with my girlfriend about food our grandmothers made for us when we were kids. My Nonna is my Wonder Woman, but she is also a genius in the kitchen. She makes this amazing spaghetti sauce that I used to love to eat, but can’t any more because it’s made with ground beef. She used to hollow out and stuff giant tomatoes and green peppers with it. I lived for her stuffed tomatoes. I have yet to have a stuffed tomato as good as hers. I’m most likely very biased, but whatever! She is my Nonna!

1381892_10152243496338332_2110997585_n

Yeah, that’s my little Nonna! She is the most amazing and loving little lady that I know. Oh, and that’s my little big brother.

For a lack of giant tomatoes, and a dislike of green peppers, I decided I would make my own version of stuffed peppers for the Girlfriend and I, this time vegan/vegetarian. It’s so easy and delicious, I’m pretty sure I’ve blogged about it in the past, but this is a re-vamped and much more delicious version!

You will need

  • 1 brick of extra firm tofu, shredded
  • 1 zucchini, cubed
  • 1 can of mixed beans, rinsed and drained
  • Half an onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • Half a bell pepper, diced
  • 1 mini can of tomato paste or sauce
  • Chili powder
  • Chipotle powder
  • Garlic powder
  • Cumin
  • Paprika
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 cup of uncooked quinoa
  • 2-4 bell peppers, uncapped and seeded
  • Shredded cheese

In a frying pan, sweat your onions and garlic, then add your vegetables, beans and tofu, and sauté until they start to brown. Add in your tomato paste/sauce, then your spices, and let simmer for 5 minutes.DSC_0766 copy

Meanwhile, cook your quinoa, or thaw it out if you already have some frozen portions in your freezer… Which is what I did.

Also, preheat your oven at 350!

While the oven is preheating, stuff your peppers half way with your quinoa, then fill them to the top with the stuffing from the pan. If you want to be like my Nonna, put the caps back on and cook them like that, but I just leave the tops off.

DSC_0775 copy

You’ll want to cook these for about 15 minutes, until the peppers start to go a little mushy. I don’t like it when they are completely mush, so really, go with how you like your peppers! Once they are at least heated through, you can pull them out and add some shredded cheesy on top and broil them to get a nice cheese top!

We served ours with sweet potato fries and a yogurt and curry dip!

DSC_0778 copy

 Now back to packing and cleaning… Oh and eating popcorn!

Leave a Reply

