Nacho Nacho Man… I Mean Macho Man! – feat. Roasted Pepper and Tomato Nachos

Anyone remember that song by the Village People “Nacho Man”?  It goes a little bit like this:

Nacho, Nacho man
I’ve got to be, a nacho man
Nacho, nacho man (yeah, yeah)
I’ve got to be a nacho!

Oh wait, that’s right, its “Macho Man”! When my brother was really young, he misunderstood the lyrics and actually believed that it was Nacho Man, and it has stuck ever since. Actually, that wasn’t the first time we’ve heard him interpret well known songs. My other favourite has to be “I Am The Frying Pan” by the Beatles (“I Am The Walrus”)

Sitting on a cornflake, waiting for the milk to come.
Corporation tee-shirt, stupid Bloody Ceasar.
Man, you been a saucy boy, you let your beans grow long.
I am the egg man, they are the bacon.
I am the frying pan, who cooks for you.

*sigh* My brother was (and still is) very creative as a child *sigh*. But back to our first musical interpretation! Every time I hear the word “nacho”, two things happen. 1) I instantly crave them, 2) I sing the song. Never fails. Which is why I decided to make some nachos this week, after seeing pictures of my favourite Mexican restaurant (Ahora’s) and their very own nachos.

My goal last summer was to find the best nachos in town, and surprisingly, it has come to a tie between the Pub U (the university pub) and the Pub St-Alexandre down in the Old Quebec (please go if you’re visiting!). If you’re looking for cheaper nachos but with great taste, go for the Pub U. If you’re looking for amazing flavour, texture and style, and don’t mind paying for it, definitely go check out the St-Alexandre pub!

Now back to my own recipe!

I’ve jazzed mine up to make them a little healthier and more filling. I also wanted to try something a little different in terms of salsa. Instead of using your traditional tomato salsa, I decided on roasting my tomatoes and bell peppers and blending them together to make a half sauce half salsa mix. So amazing! You really must try! For a healthier alternative, broil/toast some gluten free tortillas and then slice them into bite size triangles instead of using corn chips.

You will need

  • Gluten free corn chips, or tortillas
  • 2 medium sized tomatoes, sliced
  • 2 bell peppers, roasted and peeled
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Cheese
  • Toppings of your choosing

To start, slice your tomatoes and place them on a lined baking sheet and roast them in the oven for about 25-30 minutes. I sprinkled some salt, garlic powder and oregano on mine to give them a slight taste.

DSC_0836 copy

Once the tomatoes are done, roast your peppers under the broiler, since it will only take about 5 minutes. Using pre-roasted peppers is also an option.

Once the tomatoes and peppers are roasted, blend them in a food processor/blender until it reaches a coarse consistency. You’ll want to add a pinch of sugar to the two to cut down on the acidity. Blend away until it reaches the consistency you like.

DSC_0839 copy

Now for the fun part. Make your nachos like you would with any other kind, and top with your favourite toppings. We went with marbled cheese, some left over scrambled tofu, left over roasted cauliflower and zucchini, green onions and our salsa.

DSC_0856 copy

Mission accomplished! I’m pretty sure that this could count as a healthy recipe, if made only once in a while!

Leave a Reply

