Writer’s Block Made Easy With SunButter Cookies

Do you know what’s fun? Writer’s block is! Yup that’s right. Not only do I have writer’s block for my essay, I also seem to have it when it comes to writing my blog.

In the meanwhile, I’ll share a quick and delicious cookie recipe that we tested out last week. This is the kind of cookie that will make you want to share it with the world, or well you know, hide under your desk and eat the whole batch before anyone notices they were there in the first place. DSC_0880 copy

As a kid, I never had peanut butter cookies, mostly because my mom is allergic to peanuts, and that most of the times, there’s an egg in the recipe. When I became allergic to nuts, it was a definite sign that I’d never have peanut butter cookies, ever.

Fast forward a few years, and I discovered this brand called SunButterthey make this alternative nut free/peanut free butter out of sunflower seeds. I’ve been told it tastes surprisingly close to real natural peanut butter. Oh the joy! I love putting it in my oatmeal in the morning, or spreading on an apple.

This week, it dawned on me that I could actually make nut free and peanut free cookies with it! I’ve made SunButter cookies before, but this time around, it was a revelation!

They are light, fluffy like a cloud, and not overly peanut-buttery and sticky!

To make these, you will need

  • 1/4 cup smooth SunButter
  • 2 tbsp. of softened unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg substitute: yogurt, chia egg, flax egg
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup of sifted gluten free flour
  • 1/2 tsp. of baking soda
  • 2 tbsp. white sugar, to roll your cookies in

To start, cream your SunButter and butter together until you get a nice creamy mix. Add in your brown sugar and vanilla, and beat until incorporated. Finally, beat in your fake egg.

Sift your flour in a separate bowl, and measure out 3/4 of that sifted flour. If you don’t, you’ll wind up with really dense and pasty cookies.

Combine all the dry ingredients, minus the white sugar, to the creamy mix, and stir to combine.

While your oven is preheating to 350, line a baking sheet with parchment paper, and roll ping pong ball sized cookie with the dough, and drop them in the white sugar to coat them evenly. Place them on the baking sheet with about 2 inch of space in between each.

Bake at 350 for 12 minutes, and once baked, transfer them on a wire rack to let them cool for 10 minutes. Trust me, you’ll want to do this because they aren’t completely set, and that 10 minute rest on the rack will make sure that they firm up on the outside, but stay nice and fluffy on the inside.DSC_0882 copy

There you have it! Healthy (ish) nut free/peanut free, gluten free, egg free cookies!

Leave a Reply

