Don’t Ignore Your Resolutions, Eat Them!

Welcome 2016!

I was M.I.A. for the past few months due to unforeseen work related problems. However, I am back, with many surprises in store.

I also took a step back from editing and posting, mostly because I wanted to find some new and interesting content for my blog. I have finally had enough time to create and test some new recipes that I am very proud of, and that I think that you will enjoy thoroughly.

I know the beginning of a new year usually brings out the best intentions in us, which usually last less than a week, for most of us anyways. We’ve all done it, and we’ve all said we’d stick to our resolutions, but alas, so few of us do. That is why I am wishing you good luck on your journey, and I’m hoping that you will succeed!

For those of you who’ve decided to tackle the whole healthy eating resolution, you’ve probably already noticed a drop in your enthusiasm. To have tried and failed several times, I think I found the solution this time around. What you’re probably lacking in your kitchen is not healthy foods, but fun! Yes, fun!

With a show of hands, how many of you are already bored with your plain old salad, plain old brown rice, and plain old steamed veggies. Yeah, I thought so; probably most of you. Well, the secret for success is fun! Jazz up those veggies and boring salads! Now, you’re probably going to say but nooooo I have to watch my calories/macros/micronutrient intake. Well, yes obviously, but that doesn’t mean you have to make things boring.

I created this recipe after smelling something similar in a friend’s salad bowl a few months ago, and let me tell you, one drizzle of this dressing, and you WILL want to eat salad every day. Why? Because it’s so d*mn delicious! It is vegan friendly (can be made with silken tofu), it’s packed of nutrients, flavour, and most importantly, fun!

Without further ado, here is my Cilantro Lime Dressing!

DSC_0310 copy

You will need

  • 1 handful of fresh coriander (washed and patted dry)
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 garlic cloves, peeled and cut in halves
  • A splash of olive oil
  • ¼ cup of Plain yogurt (0% or Greek yogurt) OR silken tofu (if you want this to be vegan-friendly)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Put everything in a blender and blend until desired consistency. Using 0% to 2% plain yogurt will make it runny, which is great for salad dressings and marinades. If you want something a little more consistent, for more of a dip or to replace sour cream in fajitas and tacos, go with Greek yogurt.

That’s it. No joke! Taste it and adjust it to your liking. You will probably find it a little bit zingy, but keep it that way. I will enhance pretty much anything you’re eating, guaranteed!

Leave a Reply

