Home Is Where the Hummus Is

Home is where the hummus is.

Literaly.

Homemade hummus is my one weakness. I will practically find any excuse just to eat it, even when I’m not hungry. This usually results in me regretting the fact that I ate practically an entire can of chickpeas to myself, and my girlfriend asking me to sleep on the couch because I emit less than pleasant odors.

Nevertheless, homemade hummus is a gift from the gods. It costs less to make it at home than it does to buy a tiny jar of it at the grocery store. The fun thing about making your own hummus is that you can customize it to your own taste. I love mine FULL of garlic; you can try pretty much any combination of ingredients (cooked beets, roasted bell peppers, cooked sweet potato, roasted garlic, srirracha, chocolate, etc.) and it will taste amazing.

DSC_0386 copy

Here’s a really basic hummus recipe that can serve as your starting point for your next hummus adventure!

You will need

  • food processor / high powered blender / lots of arm strength
  • 1 can of low sodium chickpeas / dried chickpeas that have been rehydrated and cooked
  • 1 lemon, juiced
  • 1/4 cup to 1/3 cup of water
  • 2+ garlic cloves
  • pinch of salt
  • cumin powder
  • paprika
  • glug of olive oil

I’m not the type of person to buy a jar of tahini to use for my hummus, because honestly, how many other recipes ask for tahini…There are probably many, but I am not aware of them.

In your food processor, dump in all the ingredients and a 1/4 cup of water and blend away. If the mix looks too dry, slowly add in a little bit of water, until you get the consistency you like (extra chunky, semi-chunky, sliky… you get the picture). Also, feel free to adjust the amount of garlic cloves to your taste… I go for the “keep the vampires at bay” amount of garlic, but you know, you do you.

Store it in the fridge in an airtight container for about 3 to 4 days… if it lasts that long!

Leave a Reply

