“Soupe du jour” : lentil curry soup

Happy Sunday morning browsing to you all!

Have you ever woken up to a kind of epiphany about something? Well I had that moment about a week ago. I was sitting in bed at 9pm with my mouth guard in (sexy I know), with my book about indoor gardining, and planing how I was going to set up my potted plants. All that was missing was a heat pad on my lower back and a cup of tea.

You know what? I don’t really care! I decided on growing a couple of staple things in my kitchen/living room since I have sunlight most of the day, and I’m tired of paying 3$ for 5 green onions at the grocery store! I have, on my windowsil, green onions growing in shot glasses, a celery growing amazingly well (started by letting the roots develop by growing it in water for a couple of weeks) and I have kale sprouts, arugula sprouts and bell pepper seeds sprouting in the kitchen. Just because you don’t have a garden doesn’t mean you cant grow things!

IMG_20160306_112903 (1)

(Never mind the wilty basil on the left, it got cold and was over watered, we’re trying to save it. On the right, are my green onion shot glasses and what our plants looked like 3 weeks ago!)

Anyways, my old lady rant is over, so let me share with you our soup of the moment! We had some lovely guests last night for dinner and my sous-chef wanted us to make her favourite soup to impress them. This soup is a perfect soup to make on a Sunday, especially if it’s your cleaning day because all you need to do is put everything in the pot at once, and let it simmer for an hour! That gives you enough time to do a house cleaning, a little bit of dancing/karaoke with the broomstick, and get ready for the week. The recipe is originally from the DiStasio 3 cookbook (excellent cookbook to give to your mom for Mothers Day fyi).

DSC_0297 copy.jpg

To make this soup, you will need

  • 1 cup of chopped white onion
  • 1 can of diced tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of red lentils
  • 1 handful of fresh coriander, roughly chopped
  • 1 tbsp. ground coriander seeds
  • 1 tsp. of ground cumin
  • 1/4 tsp. of  turmeric powder
  • 1 to 2 tbsp. of grated ginger
  • 3 cups of vegetable broth
  • pinch of salt and pepper

Chop everything roughly, put in a big pot and let simmer for an hour. Once the hour is up, blend it with an immersion blender/food processor/blender, and serve with a sprinkle of chopped coriander leaves, or a drizzle of plain yogurt!

 

Leave a Reply

