Energy Balls, or As We Like to Say, Moose Turds

Guess who has a ton of laundry to sort and fold and wash and house clean, but chose to sit down and blog. This guy!

Yeah, I’m really not wanting to be an adult right now. I don’t mind getting up early during the week, but on weekends, I do like to try and sleep in. That being said, I do like being the supportive girlfriend and getting up early with my girlfriend on weekends when she has to get ready for school (her MBA program only gives classes every third weekend + she has team meetings on the other weekends)… Therefore I am up before I can cope, even with a coffee IV and breakfast.

So, right now, I have Above & Beyond – Group Therapy podcast #175 blasting, enjoying cup of coffee #2 and the window open to try to get me awake and motivated to clean. We are having a friend over for dinner, so must be presentable.

And honestly, I feel quite silly. The blog post I am writing is about energy balls… and I totally forgot that I had a batch in the fridge.

Yeah! Today’s post follows last week’s post. We’ve been trying to find alternatives for store bought granola bars and snacky things, and last week we tried our hand at making “energy balls”. They were quite the thing a couple years back, and still are today. They also look like a pile of moose turds, according to the GF. Whatever. My moose turds are good!

They are essentially balls of chopped seeds/nuts/dates/dried fruit and occasionally protein powder, and can be eaten as snacks or even pre or post workout snacks. The great thing about these is that they are no bake, and you can create your own personalized combination of flavours.

Using dates as the main binding ingredient is great for many reasons. They are a natural sweetner, so no need to add any other sweetening agents. Also, they are rich in glucose, which is metabolized by your liver, resulting in practically immediate energy. I have recently given up the pre-workout powders and energy gels during runs, and instead bring chopped and pitted dates with me in a baggie. I have honestly found them to be much more efficient at providing me with energy than the powdered stuff… I’m not sure if it’s a placebo effect, but I do encourage you to try things out for yourself!

DSC_0434 copy

Anyways, here’s what we put in ours, and they are great as a bite after a workout or a run. The nutritional profile will be included at the end to give you an idea! Your nutritional profile will change depending on the type of protein you are using, and also if you chose to add chopped nuts or seeds.

You will need

  • 12 dates, pitted, and pulsed in a food processor/blender to a chunky consistency
  • 2/3 cup of oats
  • 2 to 3 tbsp. of chia seeds
  • 3 tbsp. of SunButter (sunflower seed butter)
  • 2 tbsp. of unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/4 cup of dark chocolate chips (OPTIONAL)
  • 1 scoop of your favourite protein powder* (OPTIONAL)
  • water
  • seeds or nuts, pulsed in a food processor/blender (OPTIONAL)

First start by pulsing your dates until you get a realtively chunky but smooth paste.

In a bowl, mix all your ingredients together, and add drops of water slowly while mixing, until you get a paste that is able to stick together without you having to press too hard to get it to stick.

Roll into balls and pop them in the freezer. Done!

* I’ve been introduced to sprouted rice protein and it has totally changed the game. For those of you that are allergic to nuts/gluten/eggs, you might have a hard time finding a protein powder for you. Click here if you want a quick comparison and explanation of the difference between rice vs. whey proteins.

I used to use Vega’s sports protein, but it would give me really horrible cramps and gas every time I would use it, no matter how much water I would drink before and after. A lot of the time, this happens because of the fillers and some ingredients that just don’t agree with your body. Vega has introduced many new products to their line, including protein bars full of nuts, which has put me off from their products, although I loved them very much.

Sprouted rice protein is soft on the body and digestive system, but gives you that punch that whey or casein protein powders do. If you are looking for a a protein powder that won’t make you farty (yeah, your not alone), gassy/bloated/crampy, do your research and check it out! I have tried two Canadian brands, Prairie Natural’s French Vanilla protein powder (24g of protein), and InterACTIVE Nutrition Absolute Rice Protein powder (23g of protein). Both taste great, mix well with other ingredients, and provide a competitive amount of protein compared to your non-vegan protein powders.

Nutrition Facts
Servings: 32.0
Amount Per Serving
calories 52
% Daily Value
Total Fat 2 g 2 %
Saturated Fat 1 g 3 %
Monounsaturated Fat 0 g
Polyunsaturated Fat 0 g
Trans Fat 0 g
Cholesterol 0 mg 0 %
Sodium 7 mg 0 %
Potassium 64 mg 2 %
Total Carbohydrate 9 g 3 %
Dietary Fiber 1 g 5 %
Sugars 6 g
Protein 2 g 3 %
Vitamin A 0 %
Vitamin C 0 %
Calcium 2 %
Iron 2 %
Leave a Reply

