Chewy, Chocolatey, Moist Brownies

I sense a pattern in my blogging… I tend to write when I really don’t want to accomplish a rather important and pressing task. Take today for example: I have my final nutrition exam tomorrow. Instead of studying, I whipped up a batch of brownies.

I could always argue that it is for the sake of my nutrition class… Trying to find a way to sneak in some fiber in our diets without people noticing. At least, without my girlfriend noticing.

I’ve been putting this recipe off for a couple of years now, mostly because I didn’t have the right kitchen equipment (i.e. a food processor), and also because I was slightly afraid of the end result.

Let me tell you about that end result. IT IS AMAZING! It is moist, chewy, chocolatey, gooey, melty, and delicious. Yes, you heard me right. I made my first batch of amazing brownies. Not amazing in the “special” sense … 4/20 was two days ago and I completely forgot about it, and was wondering why there were so many stoned students on campus…

These brownies are flour free, therefore gluten free, egg free, nut free, dairy free, but PACKED with chocolate. Perfect for a guilt-free dessert… yes I said guilt-free, or for the next time you need to bring a dessert to a party.

I give you my Black Bean Brownies! I have purposely avoided saying back beans before this moment so you wouldn’t be tempted to go see elsewhere…

DSC_0512 copy

You will need

  • 1 can of black beans, EXTREMELY well rinced
  • 2 tbsp. cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup oats
  • 1/3 cup REAL maple syrup
  • 2 tbsp of sugar
  • 1/4 cup melted coconut oil
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips

You will also need a food processor, or a heavy duty blender (think Vitamix or Blendtec).

Once your black beans are super well rinced, meaning the water coming off of them should be clear and not purple, plop them into the food processor.

Add in the rest of the ingredients, except the chocolate chips, and blend away until super smooth and creamy. Put the mixture in a bowl, then add in the chocolate chips and mix to combine.

Now, time to spread the batter in a baking pan. Now, you can go with an 8×8 pan to have thick brownies, or if you’re like me and you only have an 8×12, use that. It really doesn’t matter, because the thinner your brownies are, the less guilty you’ll feel if you have two in one sitting!

Feel free to dump more chocolate chips on top of the brownie batter before you put them in the oven, for some extra naughtiness.

Bake these badboys at 350F for 15 to 18 minutes, and let rest on the counter for a good 15 minutes once they’ve cooked through. This will help them set and stay in one piece when you cut them into sizes.

DSC_0487 copy

Honestly, you could never tell it was beans.

This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Joana at My Gut Feeling by Our Growing Edge.

our-growing-edge-badge

4 thoughts on “Chewy, Chocolatey, Moist Brownies

Leave a Reply

