Glazed Ginger & Soy Tofu

Versatility.

I think that this will be the word of the month in regards to my blog posts. Looking back to what I’ve published in the past few weeks, and what I’m planning on posting, versatility seems to be the most appropriate word when describing these recipes.

In general, I’m the type of person who has a list of the list of the list of things to do. Yes, you read that correctly. Although I have a smartphone and book appointments and take notes with it, I am of the old-school fashion of writing things down on a piece of paper. Meaning, I like to be somewhat organized and planned out. Being in a relationship with someone who likes to fly by the seats of her pants, my to-do lists tend to get forgotten. This mostly happens when I try to plan out weekly dinner meals.

In the past year and a half, I have learnt to not necessarily plan everything down to the last bite, but have a general idea of what we like and have those things on hand for the days that my to-do list seems too long to finish.

This is where versatile recipes come in quite handy. And it doesn’t always have to be a versatile recipe, but a versatile ingredient. This time around, I’ve gone with tofu.

I have too many friends and acquaintences that tell me that they absolutely hate tofu because it tastes disgusting/bland/squishy and never cook with it because of that. Uhm, right.

Once you’ve tried this recipe, and I’m literally begging you to give that brick of tofu one last chance, you’ll change your mind, guaranteed. And what’s really nice about this tofu recipe is that its flavours meld so well with all types of other flavours, that once you make a batch of these tofu bites, you’ll be wanting to add them to pretty much everything. I’m saying pretty much everything because I wouldn’t be pairing them with my morning smoothie.

Here is my take on Thug Kitchen’s glazed/lacquered ginger & soy tofu! (The picture does not do it justice, it honestly does have a nice crispy glazed finish to it!)

DSC_0668 copy

You will need

  • Extra firm tofu, such as Unisoya (if you live in Quebec)
  • 1/4 cup rice vinegar
  • 1/4 cup low sodium, gluten free, soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp. lime juice
  • 2 tbsp. brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. ginger, minced
  • 2 tsp. toasted sesame oil
  • 2 tsp. Sriracha
  • 2 cloves of garlic, pressed

To start, wrap your tofu in some paper towels and put some weights on it (cans, books, etc.) and let it drain itself for 30 minutes to an hour.

Once you’ve pressed the water out, the tofu will act like a sponge and absorb the marinade, making it super flavorful. That means you won’t have an excuse for bland tasting tofu!

In a small container, mix together all the other ingredients to make your marinade.

Your best bet is to cut the tofu in logs of about 1/2 to 1 inch thickness… Think about the thickness of your thumb. In general, I slice my tofu as if I were slicing bread, and from there, I cut it into thirds for nice, even pieces.

In a shallow baking dish, line your tofu…don’t layer the pieces, as they won’t properly absorbe the marinade, and cover them with the marinade.

Let them sit in the fridge for 1h to over night. Or, if you’re in a real rush, 30 minutes will do.

Transfer them to a baking sheet and reserve the remaining marinade, since you’ll need it to baste the tofu logs.

At 375 degrees, place your tofu in the oven for 15 minutes. After 15 minutes, pull them out, flip them over and baste them with the marinade, then put them back in for another 10 minutes. Once that 10 minutes is up, repeat one last time for 5 minutes.

The result is amazing! You get these glazed sticks of tofu that you can now serve up with whatever other accompaniment that you wish!

DSC_0660 copy

 

  1. This post is part of the monthly link up party Our Growing Edge. This event aims to connect food bloggers and inspire us to try new things. This month is hosted by Joana at My Gut Feelings  by Our Growing Edge.
  2. our-growing-edge-badge
8 thoughts on “Glazed Ginger & Soy Tofu

  1. Gorgeous photos! This looks delicious. I love ginger and soy.

    This post would make a great addition to Our Growing Edge, a monthly blog link up just for new food adventures. It’s a fun way to share your new food experiences with other foodies. This month’s theme is ALLERGY FRIENDLY RECIPES which includes gluten/dairy/nut free recipes.

    More info including how to submit your link here: http://bunnyeatsdesign.com/our-growing-edge/

  2. Pingback: Glazed Ginger & Soy Tofu — Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes! | lazyvegetarianmealideas

  3. Pingback: Cookbook Guide for All Levels | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

