Spanish Rice…Olé!

Gnah, I’m a couple days late on this… I can explain! I’ve confirmed that I’m slightly OCD… I taught myself how to crochet (took me a good 24h) and have been making the most adorable crochet cacti! They are the sweetest thing ever… However, I am going to have to find new homes for some of them because my girlfriend is afraid to come home one night to find me surrounded by a sea of them… Quite possible!

Anyways, I have found the best recipe to make while making these cacti, which requires me to put everything in one pot at once and pop it in the over for an hour, and that’s it. Perfect timing for me to complete a cactus and for my dinner to be ready!

This week’s recipe is a variation on Thug Kitchen’s Spanish Rice, and my interpretation of one of my favourite restaurant’s side dish, Ahora’s tomato rice. For you who have been downtown Ottawa and have eaten at Ahora’s, you’ll know what I’m talking about… For you that haven’t, please go!!! Here’s the link to their website, while you’re at it. Traditional and homey feel to every single item on their menu, I fell in love with this place over 10 years ago!

Now, to the recipe!DSC_0650 copy

You will need

  • 2 cups of rice (in picture, Basmati)
  • 2 cups of vegetable broth
  • 2 medium tomatoes, in quarters
  • 1/2 white onion, in quarters
  • 2 to 3 cloves of garlic
  • squirt of hot sauce
  • cumin, (to taste) about 2 tsp to 1 tbsp.
  • paprika, to taste
  • chili powder
  • pinch of salt
  • olive oil

Preheat your oven at 350 degrees and find yourself a ovenproof dish, ideally something like a Creuset or Cuistot (this is the model I have), or any other baking dish that goes in the oven.

Just as a note, I have tried this with white Basmati rice and short grain brown rice by Lundberg. I like it with both, but the best one had to be the brown rice version.

In a food processor or blender, blend togeth your tomatoes, onion, garlic, hot sauce and spices, and blend for 30 seconds, or until you get a smooth sauce.

In a frying pan, plop your tomato and onion purée and add your broth and bring to a low simmer. Once it starts simmering, you can turn the heat off.

In your baking dish, put in you rice and drizzle a glug of olive oil on top. Pour in your tomato sauce and mix until all is combined. Put the lid on, or aluminum foil if there is no lid to your dish, and put it in the oven for 60 minutes.

If you find that it’s dry, add in a 1/2 cup of broth or water to help it along. I found that this was the case with the Basmati rice.

There you go! It makes A TON of rice, so this is perfect if you’re going to a BBQ or dinner party, or even if you just want to have plenty of leftovers.

2 thoughts on “Spanish Rice…Olé!

  1. Pingback: Cookbook Guide for All Levels | Healthy Hungry Student : Tips and Recipes!

Leave a Reply

